The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Pak include Junaid Zia

Karachi: Pakistan selectors on Friday named their squad for the five-match ODI series against New Zealand starting next week. The 15-member squad includes Junaid Zia, son of PCB chairman Lt Gen. Tauqir Zia.

Junaid was chosen from outside the pool of 23 probables because of his good performance in the domestic season, chief selector Aamir Sohail said.

The squad also includes star fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar, but he will be excluded from the first two matches in compliance with an ICC ban.

Shoaib was handed a one Test and two one-day match ban by ICC match referee Clive Lloyd on charges of using abusive language against South Africa’s Paul Adams in the Lahore Test.

Meanwhile, seven players who have never represented New Zealand in one-dayers have been named in the 15-man squad , adds a report from Auckland.

Four established players are unavailable — Craig McMillan, Scott Styris, Ian Butler and Lou Vincent — and captain Stephen Fleming and Nathan Astle are out because of injury. Kyle Mills is also missing with a viral infection.

Matthew Horne and Andre Adams have also opted out of the tour without explanation. Fast bowler Shane Bond, who is in the final stages of rehabilitation from injury, was not considered.


Pakistan: Inzamam-ul-Haq (captain), Imran Farhat, Saleem Elahi, Yasir Hameed, Yousuf Youhana, Shoaib Malik, Abdul Razzaq, Azhar Mahmood, Moin Khan (wicketkeeper), Danish Kaneria, Shabbir Ahmed, Mohammad Sami, Shoaib Akhtar, Misbah-ul-Haq, Junaid Zia.

New Zealand: Chris Cairns (captain), Tama Canning, Craig Cumming, Chris Harris, Paul Hitchcock, Richard Jones, Hamish Marshall, Michael Mason, Brendon McCullum, Jacob Oram, Mathew Sinclair, Daryl Tuffey, Daniel Vettori (vice-captain), Matthew Walker, Kerry Walmsley. (AFP)

Email This Page