The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

East, Central in men’s final

East Calcutta and Central Calcutta will vie for top honours in the men’s team championship of the state table tennis meet being held at Khudiram Anushilan Kendra. In the women’s team championship final, South Calcutta will take on Siliguri.

RESULTS (team championship semi-finals): Men: East Calcutta bt Hooghly 3-0 (Arup Basak bt Kallol Ganguly 11-3, 11-7, 11-0; Nilay Basak bt Chiranjit Bose 9-11, 11-8, 8-11, 11-9, 11-9; Debebrata Saha bt Chiranjib Chowdhury 13-11, 8-11, 11-9, 11-7). Central Calcutta bt South Calcutta 3-1 (Amit Mukherjee lost to Nupur Santra 8-11, 9-11, 9-11; Sourav Sengupta bt Pinaki Das 11-7, 11-6, 11-9; Santanu Mazumdar bt Sourav Roy 11-5, 12-10, 11-7). Women: South Calcutta bt North 24 Pgs 3-0 (Agamoni Mitra bt Tania Naz 11-5, 11-3, 11-6; Soumi Mondal bt Sweta Modak 11-3, 11-7, 11-4; Shinjini Mitra bt Roshni Bhattacharya 11-6, 11-8, 11-6). Siliguri bt Howrah 3-0 (Mithu Pal bt Kajol Das 11-4, 13-11, 15-13; Munni Laha bt S. Pal 7-11, 11-8, 11-6, 11-7; Sanjukta Sen bt M. Karar 12-10, 11-6, 11-7).

CM to give away prizes

Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee will give away the prizes after the tri-series final at Eden Gardens on November 18. The CAB has received a letter from the Chief Minister’s Secretariat, confirming Bhattacharjee’s presence at the ground on that day.

Samrat qualifies

Samrat Ghosh has earned the second berth in the two-member Bengal boys’ team for the inter-state tennis meet, to be held in Gurgaon. Rupesh Roy is the other member of the team.

According to a Bengal Tennis Association release, Samrat qualified after beating all his four opponents — Karan Dhillon, Sabyasachi Bose, Farid Alam and Nirvik Mohinta — in the selection trial.


TABLE TENNIS: State championship — Team events finals at Khudiram Anushilan Kendra from 3.30 pm.

CRICKET: Polly Umrigar (under-15) meet between Bengal and Assam, at Deshbandhu Park from 9.30 am.

GOLF: All India police meet at Tollygunge Club. Day I action from 7.30 am.

Email This Page