The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Bangar puts Rlys in control

New Delhi: Railways were in a dominant position over Andhra after gaining a 179-run first innings lead in the Ranji Trophy Elite Group A match here on Sunday. Riding on Sanjay Bangarís solid century and a quick-fire unbeaten half-century by Siddharth Verma, Railways declared at 441 for nine.

At stumps on Day III, Andhra had wiped out 72 of the deficit for the loss of Amit Pathak in their second essay. M. Suresh was at the crease on 29 with nightwatchman Hemal Watekar yet to score when umpires called off play.

The performances of Bangar (116) and Verma (79n.o.) formed the pillars around which the second, third, and seventh wicket stands revolved.

Resuming at 192 for one, Bangar and Tejinder Pal Singh ó 72 and 52 overnight, respectively ó brought runs at a brisk pace. However, Singh could only add seven more before a flash off Kalyanakrishna was snapped up by Faiz Ahmed at gully.

In Mumbai, Baroda opener Satyajit Parab slammed 121 to help his team reach 219 for four in their second innings against defending champions Mumbai.

The visitors, who had conceded an 111-run first innings lead, were just 108 runs ahead with six second innings wickets intact and the whole of Monday left.

Earlier, Mumbai resuming at their overnight 278 for six lost Robin Morris for the addition of just one run in the third ball of the morning. Morris was bowled by Shekhar Joshi without adding to his overnight 51.

Centurion Vinod Kambli was the next to go when left arm seamer Rakesh Patel had the southpaw bowled for 114.

Mumbai skipper Nilesh Kulkarni hung around with Swapnil Hazare (15) before being bowled by Irfan Pathan for 20.

With Hazare nicking a Patel outswinger to Nayan Mongia, the hostís first innings ended for 324.

In Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh, responding to Delhiís huge first innings 478, were struggling to avoid the follow-on, ending the third day on 206 for seven at the Green Park stadium here.


n In Ahmedabad: Hyderabad 272 & 185 (D. Manohar 45, A. Yadav 44; S.K. Trivedi 4/45, T. Patel 3/29). Gujarat 129 & 75/3.

n In Bangalore: Karnataka 208 & 235 (S. Binny 54; L. Balaji 3/97, R. Ramkumar 6/62). TN 184 & 81/2.

n In Kanpur: Delhi 478. Uttar Pradesh 206/7 (G. Pandey 60 n.o.)

n In Mumbai: Baroda 213 & 219/4 (C. Williams 50, S. Parab 121; N. Kulkarni 3/60). Mumbai 324 (V. Mane 50, V. Kambli 114, R. Morris 51; R. Patel 3/103, I. Pathan 3/40, S. Joshi 4/81).

n In New Delhi: Andhra 262 & 72/1. Railways 441/9 decl. (A. Pagnis 58, S. Bangar 116, T.P. Singh 77, S. Verma 79 n.o.).

n In Palakkad: Punjab 541/7 decl. Kerala 213/4 (Hemant Kumar 61, Sunil Oasis 50 n.o.).

Email This Page