The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
6 medals for India
- Shikha Tandon books Athens berth in 50m freestyle-Weightlifting silver for Srinivasa Rao

Hyderabad, Oct. 25 (PTI): Indian swimmers had a good day picking up three silver and two bronze medals in the Afro-Asian Games on Saturday. But the real star of the day was Shikha Tandon, who confirmed an Athens Olympics berth with a silver in the womenís 50m free-style.

While V. Srinivasa Rao gave India another silver in weightlifting, the hosts stormed into the finals of the team event in menís tennis.

Uzbekistanís Nachaev Ravil claimed the first gold of the meet winning the 50m freestyle for men. Shikha (26.50 sec) came close to winning the gold but had to bow to Chinese Zhong, who clocked 26.50. Japanís Atsumi Yamada won the bronze. The Olympic mark for the event is 26.92.

Rehan Poncha (4:45.71) claimed the bronze in the 400m individual medley for men, Algeriaís Sofiane David (4:39.89) and Senegalís Malick Fall (4:44.17) getting the gold and silver respectively.

Delhiís Richa Mishra won the silver in the 400m individual medley for women. Richa led for a better part against Koreaís Lee Sun, who took the gold in 5:8.87. Richa clocked 5:10.99 while bronze medallist Faiza Saria Dahane timed 5:11.70.

India, comprising of Akbar Ali Mir, Srinand Srinivas, Rahul Batra and Amar Muralidharan, claimed the silver in the 4x200m freestyle relay, clocking 8:9.57.

Nisha Millet, Parita Parek, Awani Sawant and Sivaranjani gave the hosts a bronze in the womenís 4x200m freestyle relay clocking 9:09.80. The Chinese clinched gold ahead of South Africa.

Meanwhile, Srinivasa gave India their first weightlifting medal with a silver in the menís 56 kg event. Srivinvasa finished with an aggregate of 240 kg (105 and 135), 7.5 behind the champion Olupono Gbenga of Nigeria, who lifted 247.5.

Tennis team cruises

Davis Cuppers Prakash Amritraj and Rohan Bopanna won in straight sets as India took an unassailable 2-0 lead against The Philippines in the semi-final of the tennis team event. Bopanna defeated Joseph Victorino 6-3, 6-2 before Amritraj outclassed Johnny Arcilla 6-3, 6-4.

In the final, India meet second seeded Nigeria who beat Sri Lanka 3-0 in the other semi-final.

Email This Page