The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Youhana to lead Pakistan
- First test vs South Africa - Inzamam ruled out; Moin Khan recalled

Lahore: Pakistan cricket selectors named Yousuf Youhana as captain on Tuesday after Inzamam-ul-Haq was ruled out of the first Test here against South Africa with a hamstring injury.

Speedster Shoaib Akhtar will be Youhana’s deputy. Youhana was recently declared fit after recovering from a hamstring injury.

The selectors also picked wicketkeeper Moin Khan for the Test, starting from Friday. Moin last played against New Zealand two-and-a-half years ago before Rashid Latif cemented his place in the side.

However, Latif is unavailable for the two Tests against the Proteas. Moin has played 63 Tests and 190 one-day Internationals.

Inzamam suffered a hamstring injury during the five-match one-day International series, which Pakistan lost 2-3.

“Inzamam requires at least 10 days of rest and he is under treatment of team doctor Tauseef Razzaq,” Pakistan Cricket Board spokesman Samiul Hasan said.

Pakistan also axed middle-order batsman Younis Khan, who scored just 106 runs in the five one-day Internationals. Left-handed opener Taufeeq Umer, who played two Tests when the Bangladeshis came last month, returns after being sidelined with a knee injury.

“He has fully recovered and has played some domestic matches for Lahore,” Hasan said.

Leg-spinner Mushtaq Ahmed was also named in the 16-member squad, “but his availability is subject to fitness”.

Ahmed pulled his stomach muscle after the first one-day International against South Africa in which the leg-spinner remained wicketless and conceded 65 runs off his 10 overs.

Ahmed forced his way into the squad after capturing 105 wickets for Sussex and helping them lift this season’s County Championship.

However, if Ahmed fails to get fit, his place will be taken by quick Umar Gul.


Yousuf Youhana (captain), Taufeeq Umer, Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Asim Kamal, Moin Khan, Shoaib Akhtar, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Sami, Danish Kaneria, Shabbir Ahmed, Salman Butt, Faisal Iqbal, Mushtaq Ahmed, Kamran Akmal, Misbahul Haq.

Email This Page