The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Super Series on ICC agenda
- Official status likely for Best vs Rest matches

Calcutta: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has proposed a high-voltage Super Series, featuring one five-day game and three limited overs matches, from 2005.

According to The Telegraph’s sources, the four games will pit the ICC’s No.1 ranked team in Tests and ODIs against the Rest of World in both forms. In all probability, this Super Series will be held every two years.

The “technicalities” are being sorted out, but it’s understood that the matches are going to be accorded official status — in fact, such recognition will be unprecedented.

After all, the Rest of World versus England and Australia series, in 1970 and 1970-71, respectively, remain unofficial with the runs and wickets simply added to the first-class record of the players in question.

“The ICC will formally recommend (to the ten Test-playing nations and Kenya, which has ODI status) that the five-day game be treated as a full-fledged Test and the three limited overs matches be recognised as proper ODIs,” informed London-based sources.

Apparently, that proposal will be placed before the ICC’s Cricket Committee-Management meeting in Mumbai, on Thursday and Friday. In any case, the Super Series is listed as item 4.4 under the events head.

Clearly, some groundwork has been done ahead of the chief executives’ (Mumbai) session.

While multiple questions have to be answered — not least pertaining to status and selection of the Rest of World — the idea itself is exciting with a capital E and the ICC should have little problem in adding to its kitty.

Of course, the pitch could queer if the ICC insists on enforcing the Player Terms made mandatory for the World Cup and Champions Trophy. Actually, it can’t afford another controversy.

The Latest ICC Standings

Tests: Australia (129 points), South Africa (116), New Zealand (106), England (104), India (94), Pakistan (92), Sri Lanka (91), West Indies (83), Zimbabwe (58) and Bangladesh (0).

ODIs: Australia (135 points), South Africa (118), England (107), West Indies (106), New Zealand (106), Pakistan (106), Sri Lanka (105), India (104), Zimbabwe (63), Kenya (28) and Bangladesh (0).

Email This Page