The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Umpires’ roster sees change

Mumbai: Former India captain S. Venkatraghavan will replace A.V. Jayaprakash as one of the umpires for the India-Australia ODI to be played at Wankhede Stadium on November 1.

Venkatraghavan, who has expressed his desire to officiate in one-dayers in India, will also replace K. Hariharan in the Australia-New Zealand tie to be held in Faridabad on October 29, the BCCI secretary S.K. Nair said from Thiruvanthapuram on Monday.

According to the list of umpires released by the BCCI earlier, Jayaprakash was to officiate in the Mumbai tie along with neutral umpire Neil Mallender of England while Hariharan was to do duty in Faridabad with another Englishman, David Shepherd.

“There is also a change in the three-dayer between New Zealand and India A in Rajkot from October 2. M.S. Mahal will replace S.C. Gupta,” Nair said. V.K. Chopra is the other umpire. Mahal will also replace Gupta as the fourth umpire for the Cuttack ODI on November 6. (PTI)

Email This Page