The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Sebian Jojo to lead

A 17-member junior Bengal team was selected for the Sher-e-Punjab Maharaja Ranjit Singh Gold Cup hockey tournament to be held in Amritsar from Monday. The squad will leave on Saturday. Sebian Jojo is skipper.


Manmohan Ram, Bappa Saha, Sanjay Lakra, Cornelius Kullu, Amit Sharma, Zakarius Bhengra, Ajit Lakra, Zohan Minz, Praful Dung Dung, Dibyendu Das, Sujit Mondal, Thomas Nag, Theodore Baa, Sebian Jojo (capt.), Ruplal Xalxo, Sukhen Saha, Pingal Surin.

Coach: S. Mohanty

Mokshada shocked

City girl Mokshada Jain was shocked by Solanki Sahu of Orissa 6-3, 4-6, 4-6 in the under-14 Nike junior tour tennis meet at the BTA complex Thursday. Fourth seeded Susita of Orissa was beaten by Likitha Devaraj of Karnataka 2-6, 7-5, 3-6. In the boys’ under-12 quarters, Prasenjit Pal of Jamshedpur was beaten by Siddhartha Gulgule of Maharashtra 0-6, 2-6. In the semis, M. A. Navin of Tamil Nadu meets statemate Gugan Verma while Gulgule takes on Chandril Sood of Delhi. Chandril Sood remains the only seeded player in the event.

Charuchandra emerge winners

Charuchandra College (evening) won their inter-collegiate football match beating Chittaranjan College 4-1 in the tie-breaker. The meet is organised by Calcutta University.


Asif Khan and Shoaib Ahmed of Waa Rubber India won the Main Plate in the third Merchants’ Cup bowling meet, beating Nirmal Verma and Sandeep Dhanuka of Pru ICICI AMC Ltd in the final. Abhijit Pomayat and Sanjoy Saha of Cognizant Technology Solution won the Losers’ Plate.


The Bardhaman boys and girls teams won their matches in the 12th youth state basketball tournament on Thursday. While the boys’ team beat Birbhum 48-16, the girls blanked YMCA 20-6.

Other Results — boys: St Anthony’s bt BBYS 41-40; YMCA bt Chetla Park 63-61; Rakhi Sangha bt Barisha AC 50-47; BBYS bt Hooghly 27-9. Girls: Birbhum bt Chatra Samity 39-15; Chetla Park bt Howrah 10-4.

Email This Page