The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Sangma lifts title

Calcutta: Top seed, and pre-tournament favourite Rahul Sangma of Govt. High School, Chhapra, Bihar won the 16th edition of The Telegraph Schools’ Chess Championship at Alekhine Chess Club on Thursday.

Needing only a draw, Sangma decided to play safe and signed the peace treaty with his opponent, defending champion, Joydeep Dutta of Kumar Ashutosh Institution in just 21 moves to seal the title. Rahul gets The Telegraph trophy and a cash prize of Rs 15,000.

Debaditya Sinha Biswas, of Salt Lake Point School once again proved to a giant killer, making short work of Anurag Jaiswal in 49 moves. Despite his loss Children’s Seminary’s Jaiswal (9 points) along with Biswas was placed second with better progressive score and won Rs10000. Biswas was third.

Mary Ann Gomes of Frank Correa Academy managed to salvage a draw against the second seed, Akshat Khamparia of Madhya Pradesh despite having an inferior position in the middlegame and the endgame. With the draw Gomes took her tally to 8.5 points and was placed fourth on progressive score.

Dutta, Indradeep Giri, Minhazuddin Ahmed Sagar and Kamparia also scored 8.5 points and took the next four positions.

The surprise of the meet was 11-year-old Sandipan Chatterjee of Shree Jain Vidyalaya for Boys who scored 8 points and finished 13th. Sandipan beat the champion of the Guwahati leg, L.Romen Singh in the final encounter.

Nisha Mohota, the state’s first WGM, was felicitated by her employer, Life Insurance Corporation of India, on Tuesday.


Joydeep Dutta (8.5) drew with Rahul Sangma (10); Debaditta S Biswas (9) bt Anurag Jaiswal (9); Mary Ann Gomes (8.5) drew with Akshat Khamparia (8.5); Aniket R Pawashe (8) drew with Indradeep Giri (8.5); Soumya Thakurta (8) drew with Souvik Chakraborty (8); C.R.G. Krishna (7.5) lost to Minhazuddin A. Sagar (8.5); Sourav Bose (8) bt Souparno Ghosh (7.5); Angam G. Singh (7) lost to Rajib Dhar (8); Debayan Majumdar (8) bt Arindam Das (7); Amritesh Ray (7) lost to Shamima Akter Liza(8); Trailokya Nanda (7) lost to V. Sandheep (8); Suddhasattwa Das (7) lost to Suman Basu (8); Sandipan Chatterjee (8) bt L. Romen Singh (7); Diptanu Das (7) lost to Swayams Mishra (8); Kh. Sanjoy Singh (8) bt Antarip Roy (7); Payel Guha (8) bt Saurav Anand (7); Debanjan Das (7) drew with Tejdeep Adabwala (7); Saurav Chakraborti (7.5) bt S Tejaswini Reddy (6.5); Sourav Mahapatra (7.5) bt Hardik Roy (6.5); Samrat Ghorai (7.5) bt Menhazul Hoda (6.5); S. Chandana P. Reddy (6.5) lost to Anwesh Upadhaya (7.5); Kishoara S. Evana (7.5) bt Ajoy Das (6.5); Ramkrishna Perumalla (7.5) bt Manabi Chouhan (6.5); Subhabrata Das (7.5) lost to Nazir Arifeen (6.5); Jeet Ganguly (6) lost to Kiran M Mohanty (6).

Email This Page