The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Sangma, Jaiswal extend lead
- telegraph schools’ chess

Calcutta: Top seeded Rahul Sangma of Bihar and Anurag Jaiswal of Children Seminary stretched their lead to a full point at the end of the ninth round of the of the Telegraph Schools’ Chess Championship at the Gorky Sadan on Tuesday.

Both won comfortably to be tied at 8.5, while Joydeep Dutta and C.R.G. Krishna are second at 7.5.

Sangma had it easy against Indradeep Giri of Uttarpara Govt HS in Sicilian defence.

Jaiswal had Mary Ann Gomes tied down to the defence in a double rook ending and wrapped up the game in 43 moves as the latter failed to activate her passive rooks.

Defending champion Dutta, of Kumar Ashutosh Institution, came back into reckoning with a quick win against Aniket Pawashe of Karnataka in 29 moves in a Reti opening.

Suman Bose of Madhyamgram HS squandered a promising position against second seeded Akshat Khamparia of MP in a Sicilian defence.

Eleven-year-old Sandipan Chatterjee of Shree Jain Vidyalaya for Boys held 12th seed Minazuddin Ahmed Sagar of Bangladesh after a long struggle.

After a string of upsets in the previous rounds, Bitan Banerjee (Baruipur HS) went down to Shamima Akter Liza of Bangladesh in 40 moves in the Najdorf variation of Sicilian defence.



Rahul Sangma (8.5) bt Indradeep Giri (7); Mary Ann Gomes (7) lost to Anurag Jaiswal (8.5); Aniket R. Pawashe (6.5) lost to Joydeep Dutta (7.5); C. R. G Krishna (7.5) bt Rajib Dhar (6.5); Suman Basu (6) lost to Akshat Khamparia (6); Tejdeep Adabala (6.5) drew Saurav Anand (6.5); Sourav Bose (7) bt Angam G Singh (6); Kh. Sanjoy Singh (6) lost to Soumya Thakurta (6); Debayan Majumdar (7) bt Khitendra P. Dalai (6); Sandipan Chatterjee (6.5) drew Minhazuddin A. Sagar (6.5); Bitan Banerjee (6) lost to Shamima Akter Liza (7); Payel Guha (6) lost to Souparno Ghosh (7); Debaditta S. Biswas (7) bt Aditya Bhan (6); Trailokya Nanda (6.5) bt S. Tejaswini Reddy (5.5); Sharmin S. Shirin (5.5) lost to Souvik Chakraborty (6.5).

Email This Page