The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Sangma, Jaiswal share lead
- Ten-year-old Bitan Banerjee holds Fide-rated Minhazuddin

Calcutta: Top seed, Rahul Sangma of Bihar and Anurag Jaiswal of Children Seminary jointly lead the fray with 7.5 points apiece after the end of the 8th round of The Telegraph Schools’ Chess Championship at Alekhine Chess Club, Gorky Sadan on Monday.

Close on their heels are two players — Mary Ann Gomes of Frank Correa Academy and Indradeep Giri of Uttarpara Govt. High School — with 7 points each.

Sangma survived a scare against Soumya Thakurta of St. James School in a sharp game, which arose from a French defence. Sangma sacrificed the rook for a knight early in the game, and obtained 3 pawns in the centre. Thakurta won back a vital central pawn by exploiting a pin against Sangma’s King. Thakurta, however, erred in going into an endgame where Sangma’s pawns proved fatal for him.

Anurag made excellent use of his queenside passed pawn against C.R.G Krishna of Andhra Pradesh and had little difficulty thereafter in winning the game.

Mary Ann Gomes of Frank Correa Academy adopted her favourite Bird’s opening against which Suman Basu sacrificed a pawn early in the game but he failed to use his pieces effectively in the middle game. Gomes went into an endgame where she won another pawn after which it was curtains for Basu.

Ten-year-old Bitan Banerjee of Baruipur HS continued his string of upsets as he held Fide-rated Minhazuddin Ahmed Sagar of Bangladesh to a draw in a double rook ending.

Another Bangladeshi player, Shamima Akter Liza held third seed, Tejdeep Adabwala of Hyderabad in 25 moves in a Slav defence. Sourav Mahapatra of Orissa went down to 5th seed Aniket R. Pawashe of Karnataka in the exchange variation of the Caro Kann defence.

St.James continued to lead the race for the Best School trophy points at the end of the with 23.5 points.


Anurag Jaiswal (7.5) bt C.R.G.Krishna (6.5); Soumya Thakurta (6.5) lost to Rahul Sangma(7.5); Mary Ann Gomes (7) bt Suman Basu(6); Angam G. Singh (6) lost to Indradeep Giri(7); Shamima Akter Liza (6) drew with Tejdeep Adabwala(6); Joydeep Dutta (6.5) bt Saurav Chakraborti (5.5); Saurav Mahapatra (5.5) lost to Aniket R Pawashe(6.5); Rajib Dhar (6.5) bt Ramkrishna Perumalla (5.5); Minhazuddin A Sagar (6) drew with Bitan Banerjee (6); Akshat Khamparia (6) bt Arindam Das(5); V Sandheep (5) lost to Saurav Bose (6); L. Romen Singh(5) lost to Debayan Majumdar(6); Nazir Arifeen (5.5) drew with Trailokya Nanda(5.5); Souparno Ghosh (6) bt Amritesh Ray(5); Debaditta S Biswas (6) bt M Lalita Reddy (5); Rohan Shah(5) lost to Sandipan Chatterjee(6)

Email This Page