The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Ten in lead
- Souparno holds second seed

Calcutta: On a day of upsets, Souparno Ghosh of Don Bosco, Park Circus caused a flutter, when he held second seed Akshat Khamparia of Madhya Pradesh to a draw in the 4th round of The Telegraph Schools’ Chess Championship at Alekhine Chess Club, Gorky Sadan on Thursday.

After the completion of Wednesday’s round, ten players lead the fray with 4 points each.

In other major upset, Debaditta Sinha Biswas of Salt Lake Point School vanquished the 7th seed, Sourav Bose of Julien Day School with the white pieces in a double rook versus rook and knight ending.

Top seed, Rahul Sangma of Govt High School, Chhapra played the endgame precisely to get the better of Souvik Chakraborty of Narmada HS in a rook and pawns versus rook and pawn ending.

Defending champion, Joydeep Dutta of Kumar Ashutosh Institution exploited the weak opening play of Suman Basu of Madhyamgram HS in 34 moves in the Queen’s Gambit Accepted in 41 moves. National sub-junior champion Mary Ann Gomes of Frank Correa Academy had little difficulty against Sandipan Chatterjee in a bird’s opening. Mary Ann went on to win the game in 43 moves.

The visually challenged player Naresh Pramanik of Louis Braille Memorial School for the Sighless, Uttarpara went down to Kh. Sanjoy Singh of Manipur after a long struggle which arose from a Sicilian defence.

Top Board Results

Souvik Chakraborti (3) lost to Rahul Sangma (4); Akshat Khamparia(3.5) drew with Souparno Ghosh(3); Joydeep Duta(4) bt Suman Basu(3); Rajib Dhar (3.5) drew with Saurav Chakraborti (3.5); Debaditta S Biswas(4) bt Sourav Bose(3); Mary Ann Gomes(4) bt Sandipan Chatterjee(3); Ashish Kumar(3) lost to Soumya Thakurta(4); Anurag Jaiswal(4) bt Sourav Mahapatra(3); Abhratanu Dutta (3) lost to Minhazuddin Sagar(4); Saurav Anand(3) lost to Indradeep Giri (4); Sharmin S Shirin(3.5) drew with Shamima Akter Liza(3.5); Kiran Monisha Mohanty(4) bt Payel Guha(3); Diptanu Das(4) bt Trailokya Nanda(3); S Tejaswini Reddy(2.5)lost to Tejdeep Adabwala(3.5); C.R.G. Krishna(3.5) bt R. Raviteja(2.5); Swayams Mishra(3.5) bt M. Lalit A Reddy (2.5)

Email This Page