The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Lucky win for Sharmin

Calcutta: Dame luck smiled on Sharmin Sultana Shirin of Bibi Mariam Girls’ High School, Dhaka in the third round of The Telegraph Schools’ Chess Championship at Alekhine Chess Club, Gorky Sadan on Wenesday.

Playing with the black pieces, against the 11th seed, Debayan Majumdar of St James’ School, Sharmin was clearly in an inferior position in the Maroczy Bind variation of the Sicilian defence, but Debayan failed to make the requisite 40 moves in the prescribed time limit and had to forfeit the game on time. At the end of the round, 26 players share the lead with 3 points.

Top seed, Rahul Sangma of Govt High School, Chhapra, Bihar had to face some anxious moments against Sumit Shaw of St Lawrence HS in a Sicilian defence. The game, at one time, was heading for a draw but Rahul broke through on the opposite wing to win the game in 62 moves.

National sub-junior girls’ champion Mary Ann Gomes of Frank Correa Academy outsmarted Ramkrishna Perumalla of Hyderabad quite easily in the Najdorf variation of the Sicilian defence. Mary Ann skilfully exploited the dark square weakness on her opponent’s diagonal set up a mating net and won in 32 moves.

Second seed, Akshat Khamparia of B.E.M.S.S. School (MP) had little difficulty in getting the better of Angam G. Singh of Numjao Lairembi HS, Manipur in 32 moves in a Sicilian defence.

In a clash between two Bangladeshis, Samima Akter Liza of Bibi Mariam Girls’ HS got the better of compatriot Najir Arifin of Rajarbag School in just 20 moves in a Slav defence.


Rahul Sangma (3) bt Sumit Shaw (2); Angam G. Singh (2) lost to Akshat Khamparia (3); Priyangshu Saika (2) lost to Joydeep Dutta (3);

Khitendra P. Dalai (2) lost to Rajib Dhar (3); Sourab Bose (3) bt Anwesh Upadhyaya (2); Ramkrishna Perumalla (2) lost to Mary Ann Gomes (3); Soumya Thakurta (3) bt V. Sandeep (2); Arindam Das (2) lost to Anurag Jaiswal (3); Debayan Majumdar (2) lost to Sharmin S. Shirin (3); Amritesh Ray (2) lost to Minhazuddin A Sagar (3); Indradeep Giri (3) bt L. Romen Singh (2); M. Lalit Reddy (2.5) drew with C.R.G. Krishna (2.5); Shamima Akter Liza (3) lost to Nazir Arifin (2); Farjana Hossain Anne (2) lost to Kiran M. Mohanty (3); Trailokya Nanda (3) bt Mimi Arjun (2); Bitan Banerjee (2) lost to Souvik Chakraborty (3); Debanjan Das (2) lost to Souparno Ghosh (3); Samrat Ghorai (2) lost to Debaditta S Biswas (3); Suman Basu (3) bt Monika Nishad (2); Payel Guha (3) bt Suchandra Chatterjee (2); Saurav Chakraborti (3) bt Suddhasattwa Das (2); Shakespeare L (2) lost to Asish Kumar (3); Sandipan Chatterjee (3) bt Sriya Bhattacharya (2); Kn Sanjoy Singh (2) lost to Diptanu Das (3); Ananya Pal (2) lost to Abhratanu Dutta (3); Sourav Mahapatra (3) bt Rohan Shah (2); K. Raviteja (2.5) drew with Antarip Roy (2.5); Priyadeep Datta (2) lost to Saurav Anand (3); Tejdeep Adabwala (2.5) bt Anu Gupta (2).

Email This Page