The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Antarip upsets Aniket

Calcutta: The second day of The Telegraph Schools’ Chess Championship clearly belonged to 12-year-old Antarip Roy of St Paul’s Mission School who caused a major upset by defeating fifth seed Aniket R. Pawashe of St Xavier’s HS, Belgaum, Karnataka in the second round at Gorky Sadan on Monday.

Playing with the black pieces, Aniket opted for the Caro-Kann defence against Antarip, but lost a piece early in the game, after which the city boy had little difficulty in converting his material advantage into a win.

In other minor upsets, Satyajit Kundu of Vivekananda Mission School held third seed Tejedeep Adabwala of All Saints HS, Hyderabad to a draw while Raj Goenka of Bhowanipur Gujrati Education Society School drew with the champion of the Bhubaneswar leg, Swayms Mishra of Stewart School, Cuttack.

Top seed Rahul Sangma of Govt High School, Chhapra, Bihar, beat Aniruddha Menon of La Martiniere School for Boys.

Fide-rated Shamima Akter Liza of Bangladesh had to sweat it out against Gaurab Bhadhuri of Vivekananda Mission in the Alapin variation of the Sicilian defence. Gaurab spurned the draw offer of Liza twice, only to regret as he went down in 48 moves.


Aniruddha Menon(1) lost to Rahul Sangma (2); Akshat Khamparia (2) bt Pallabi Roy (1); Satyajit Kundu(1.5) drew with Tejdeep Adabwala (1.5); Joydeep Dutta(2) bt I Chattopadhyay (1); Antarip Roy(2) bt Aniket R Pawashe (1); Rajib Dhar(2) bt S Chandana P Reddy(1); Nandini Saripalli (1) lost to Sourav Bose (1); Mary Ann Gomes (2) bt Sudip Rajbansi (VC) (1); Subhajit Dhar(1) lost to Soumya Thakurta (2); Anurag Jaiswal (2) bt Subhabrata Das (1); Jeet Ganguly (1) lost to Debayan Majumdar (2); Minhazuddin A Sagar(2) bt Ankan Modak (1); Tathagata Das(1) lost to Indradeep Giri (2); C.R.G. Krishna(2) bt Arijit Chowdhury (1); Gaurav Bhaduri (1) lost to Shamima Akter Liza (2).

Email This Page