The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
CAB XI fall for 157

Calcutta: CAB failed to keep the momentum going, being bundled out for a paltry 157 against Indian Oil Corporation in their Buchi Babu invitational meet match in Chennai on Tuesday.

According to information received here, chasing 284 for a first innings lead, the Bengal batsmen had no answer to Rajesh Powar’s (seven for 57) left-arm spin. Subhamoy Das (43) and Amitava Chakraborty (37) were the notable scorers for CAB XI. At stumps, IOC were 82 for two, their overall lead being 208.

Meanwhile, Hyderabad XI, TNCA President’s XI and Combined Districts XI made it to the quarter finals.


IOC 284 & 82/2. CAB XI 157 (Subhamoy Das 43; Rajesh Powar 7/57).

Training camp

Bengal spinners Sourashish Lahiri and Shib Sagar Singh will train under Laxman Sivaramakrishnan in the forthcoming spinners’ camp organised by the CAB. Though the association intended to have Deep Dasgupta for the keepers’ camp under Syed Kirmani, he will not be available due to his minor county commitments.

CAB finalised the list for the programme on Tuesday.

TRAINEESU-15: Avishek Saha, Sambit Roy, Santanu Das, Chandan Pal, Debopriyo Ghosh, Soumyajit Mondal, Kunal Chowdhury, Soumya Pakre, Areeb Hossain, Srivats Goswami, Bappaditya Ghosh, Sudip Bhatta, Sandip Halder, Gourav Nag. U-17: Dilip Singh, Amit Banerjee, Bablu Goswami, Himadri Pal, Avishek Ghosal, Suman Das, Sayan Dutta, R. Bihani, Tuhin Pal, Uddipan Mukherjee, Priyabrata Dutta.

U-19: Kirti Sircar, Micheel Behra, Debabrata Pal, Manoj Tewari, Priyankar Mukherjee, Anirban Gupta, Soham Ghosh, Wriddhiman Saha, Tridip Ghosh, Soujan Biswas, Indrajit Majumdar. Senior/A: Indrajit Ghatak, Uttam Josh, Ritam Kundu, Aniruddha Roy, Shib Sagar Singh, Sourashish Lahiri, Anirban Chatterjee, Kunal Bajpayee.

Email This Page