The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Mixed fare for CPM in varsity polls

The Calcutta University senate elections are proving to be both good and bad news for the ruling CPM. While the party’s candidates have been declared elected uncontested in most seats in absence of nominees from the Opposition, there is challenge from within in others. The senate elections are slated for September 11.

Nominees from major Opposition parties, Trinamul Congress and Congress, could not put up their candidates due to alleged terror unleashed by the CPM. However, a tough contest is likely for seats where CPM loyalists in the West Bengal University and College Teachers’ Association (WBCUTA) are contesting against Left Front nominees.

The CPM and other Left Front partners are fighting the election under the banner of Siksha Ganatantrikaran Sanstha, while the Opposition has united under the Democratic Teachers for Autonomy and Academic Freedom (DTAAF) umbrella.

The party leadership has failed to persuade pro-CPM WBCUTA executives — association vice-president Arun Chatterjee, treasurer Dipankar Dasgupta and joint secretary Dipak Nag — not to contest the election. They are fighting the polls as DTAAF candidates.

Email This Page