The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
No Ranji match in Siliguri

Calcutta: Though Bengal won their only Ranji Trophy game last season in Siliguri, the CAB authorities have decided against allotting any match at the Kanchenjungha Stadium this time around.

The CAB authorities said Bengal have only two home games this season, against Assam and Hyderabad in the league stage. “We prefer to have those games held at the Eden Gardens itself,” CAB secretary Bablu Kolay said on Thursday.

However, a Deodhar Trophy match between East Zone and Central Zone will take place at Siliguri from January 15.

Also, an under-25 match between Bengal and Sikkim will be held at the Kanchenjungha Stadium.

Meanwhile, the East Zone leg of the national one-day meet will take place in Jamshedpur from January 3-10. The fixture was finalised in a meeting of the East Zone committee at the CAB on Thursday.

The city will host the final leg from February 5, where the champions of all zones will participate.


East Zone leg

Jan 3: Orissa vs Assam; Bihar vs Tripura; Jan. 4: Bengal vs Bihar; Tripura vs Assam; Jan 6: Bengal vs Assam; Orissa vs Tripura; Jan. 8: Bengal vs Tripura; Orissa vs Bihar; Jan. 10: Bengal vs Orissa; Bihar vs Assam.


Feb. 5: West vs Central; North vs East; Feb. 6: South vs West; East vs Central; Feb. 8: North vs west, South vs Central; Feb. 9: West vs East; South vs North; Feb. 11: North vs Central; South vs East.

Umpires’ seminar

Ten BCCI panel umpires will represent Bengal in the national seminar to be held in Mumbai on September 7 and 8. They are Sekhar Chowdhury, Subrata Porel, Francis Gomes, Aloke Bhattacharya, Susanta Pathak, Sukanta Pathak, Aniruddha Banerjee, S.P. Biswas, S.R. Guha and Avik Mitra.

Meanwhile, the CAB has decided to send a team for J.B. Atray Memorial one-day meet in Chandigarh from September 20 to 30. This is the first time, Bengal will take part in the meet.

Email This Page