The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Jumbo pack selected
- Injured Srinath unavailable for conditioning camp
Dravid, with Yuvraj and Kaif, will
attend the second leg

Mumbai: Gujarat pacer Sidharth Trivedi and Karnataka wicketkeeper Thilak Naidu were the two new faces among the 36 probables announced here Tuesday for the conditioning camp ahead of the home series against New Zealand.

Barring the two new faces, there were hardly any surprises as the national selectors picked the entire World Cup squad as well as those who were part of India A’s successful England tour recently.

Pace spearhead Jawagal Srinath was omitted from the list after he made himself unavailable for the conditioning camp and the subsequent Challenger Trophy to be held in Bangalore.

BCCI secretary S. K. Nair said three players — Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh and Mohammed Kaif — who were currently playing County cricket in England were not picked but have been asked to report for the second leg of the camp.

The probables will attend a camp in Bangalore from August 14-26 and re-assemble for another stint at the same venue from September 1-6. Nair said: “Srinath has made himself unavailable as he is undergoing treatment for the injury sustained during his stint with English County Durham.”

Nair, however, said Srinath was not ruled out of the New Zealand series and “may be considered”, provided he is fit.

He also said three teams will be selected from among the probables to play the Challenger Trophy from September 10-14.

A 15-member Rest of India squad will also be selected from the probables to play Ranji Trophy champions Mumbai in the Irani Trophy match in Chennai from September 18 to 22.

Nair clarified that players who have been named among the probables but were playing for some minor Counties should inform the Board if they wanted to be exempted from the first leg of the camp.

Coach John Wright, physio Andrew Leipus and trainer Gregory Allen King will join the camp in the second leg.


Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar, Anil Kumble, Virender Sehwag, Dinesh Mongia, Parthiv Patel, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Ajit Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh, Sanjay Bangar, Shiv Sundar Das, Gautam Gambhir, Wasim Jaffer, Satyajit Parab, Hemang Badani, S Sriram, Rohan Gavaskar, Vijay Bharadwaj, Murali Kartik, Amit Mishra, L. Balaji, Avishkar Salvi, Irfan Pathan (jr), Mithun Manhas, Ajay Ratra, Thilak Naidu, V. V. S. Laxman, Sairaj Bahutule, Ramesh Powar, Jai Prakash Yadav, A. T. Rayudu, Reetinder Singh Sodhi, Sarandeep Singh, Sidharth Trivedi and Amit Bhandari. (PTI)


Email This Page