The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Bengal girls start well

Hyderabad: Delhi’s Sandeep Sarkaria and Bengal’s Rakhi Saha registered thrilling victories in the 100m dash for men and women, respectively, on the opening day of the 9th Federation Cup athletic championship at the G.M.C. Balayogi Stadium on Monday.

In the women’s 10000 metres as well Bengal put up a good show. L. Aruna Devi won the gold in 36:32.66, beating Ashwini Dukanmder (Maharashtra) and Basanthi Biswas also of Bengal.

Starting off on a promising note, Rakhi took an early lead but statemate Mukti Saha put up a good fight. Rakhi clocked 12.06 to clinch the gold ahead of Mukti who clocked 12.12. K.M. Greeshma of Kerala took the bronze.

Sarkaria, who got off to a good start, maintained a clear lead over his opponents till the half-line but was run close by Army’s Sanjay Ghosh, who finished just 0.01 seconds behind Sarkaria.

While the Delhi runner clocked 10.51, Ghosh clocked 10.52, with Piyush Kumar (Delhi) finishing third with a timing of 10.61.

Uttar Pradesh’s Kuldip Kumar won in the men’s 1500m in 3:50.63. Pritam Bind (Uttaranchal) timed 3:52.73 to win the silver medal while Sunil Kumar (Haryana) had to be content with the bronze with a timing of 3:52.96.

Madhuri. A. Singh (AIESCB), won the women’s 1500m. She took the gold by clocking 4:26.18, ahead of Hemalatha (Karnataka) who clocked 4:32.98 and S. Santhi (Tamil Nadu).

Jayaveer Singh’s (Army) 18.30m effort in shot put proved too good for other competitors as he won the gold pushing Kulwinder Singh’s (Punjab Police) 17.69m effort to second place. Malkhan Singh (Haryana) took the bronze at 17.62m.

In the women’s discus, Neelam. J. Singh lived up to her reputation as she hurled the disc to a distance of 58.95m to clinch the top place. Harwant Kaur (Punjab Police) and Seema Antil (CRPF) took the silver and bronze medals respectively.

In the men’s 10,000m race, Sivanand (AP) took the top honour with a timing of 32:31.32 ahead of Baliram Disale (Maharashtra) and Mathew Soji of Kerala.

Email This Page