The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Barua loses, Surya wins

Edinburgh: Swati Ghate took another stride forward in her quest for a Women Grandmaster norm by holding compatriot GM P. Harikrishna in the third round of the British Chess Championship Thursday.

Aaron Summerscale and Adam Hunt emerged leaders with three points following wins against Nasir Ahmed and Rajko Vujatovic.

A pack of 11, including Indians S. Kidambi, Surya Sekhar Ganguly, Swati and Harikrishna, follow the leaders on 2.5.

Twenty-two players including GM Abhijit Kunte and WGM S. Vijayalakshmi are on two points.

In a major upset, GM Dibyendu Barua suffered yet another defeat, going down to Englishman Timothy Woodward while double GM norm holder Tejas Bakre was held by Matthew Dignam of Ireland. Tejas has two points while Barua remains on one.

However, Surya had it easy, beating Stewart Haslinger of England.

S. Vijayalakshmi remained on right path scoring an impressive win over Jovica Radovanovic of Yugoslavia while Nisha Mohota beat Colin Walton of England. However S. Meenakshi and Aarthie Ramaswamy went down against Shaun Munson of England and Rowson respectively while Eesha Karavade drew with Craig Hanley of England.

Swati managed a point with ease against Harikrishna who stuck to his newfound love in the Ruy Lopez as black. The opening posed little problems for Swati and she obtained a slightly better middlegame prospect with established manoeuvres.

Harikrishna tried hard to keep his winning chances alive but Swati matched him move for move . Harikrishna thereafter was pushed to the wall and had to play precisely to steer the game to a draw after 46 moves.

Email This Page