The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Tolly lucky to secure first victory

Calcutta: It took Tollygunge Agragami five matches to get to the winning ways in the Super Division of the Calcutta Football League. However, the victory against Wari AC at East Bengal ground on Wednesday should be attributed more to a horrendous error by assistant referee Francis Xavier Biswas than the Subrata Bhattacharya side’s scoring ability.

The win helped Tollygunge garner five points from five games, while Wari stay on one.

In the 17th minute, Kabijit Khotel moved in from the right and essayed a pass to Akeem Abolanle, who was clearly standing in an off-side position. The Nigerian, playing his first match of the season, dribbled past the rival ’keeper Nasimul Haq and slotted the ball in.

Wari AC players protested against Biswas’ decision of not raising the flag and the game had to be stopped for about five minutes. Even after the match, the officials, including referee Partha Sarathi Rout, were gheraoed by the Wari officials and police had to cordon them off.

Biswas, meanwhile, was having a forgettable day. Five minutes later, Akeem received a ball from the midfield with a defender trying to cover him from behind. But to everyone’s dismay, the assistant referee signalled off-side, as if to make up for his earlier fault.

Tollygunge Agragami’s game was well below-par and had the Wari attackers done a better job, it would have been another bad day for the National League side.

In the 35th minute, Samar Das of Wari set one up for Pervez Alam, but the latter shot over with the rival ’keeper at his mercy.

Five minutes later, Supratik Aind failed to connect from close range as Dipak Das set him up inside the box.

However, the only bright spot for Tollygunge Agragami was Amit Das. He held the centrestage in the second session and provided the attackers with too many opportunities. But his colleagues woefully lacked the penetration and missed them one after another, much to the chagrin of Bhattacharya.


Tollygunge Agragami: Rajnarayan Mukherjee, Kabijit Khotel (Chinmoy Sarkar, 68), Isisaka Awoyemi, Sujit Neyogi, Shamsi Reza, Amit Das, Temzen Kibang, Suman Dutta (Laltu Das, 20), Gouranga Dutta, Prakash Koley, Akeem Abolanle.

Wari AC: Nasimul Haq, Samar Das, Nayan Dey, Palash Ghosh, Kajol Das, Himadri Chakraborty, Pervez Alam, Bapi Halder, Dipak Das, Jan Mehta, Supratik Aindh (Anirban Sen Gupta, 46).

Referee: Partha Sarathi Rout.

Email This Page