The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

‘Peace Rally’ planned

Sanjay Arya and Yogesh Gupta, the Eastern India rally circuit champions last season, have decided to move onto somewhat uncharted roads. Early next year this duo intends to drive a ‘Peace Rally’ effort to Pakistan (Lahore), Nepal, Bangladesh and Bhutan (the SAARC countries where he can drive to).

Pakistan and Bangladesh await official clearances — “Lahore is accessible from the Wagah border, but thereafter it will be up to the Pakistani and Indian authorities to let me drive,” Arya said Wednesday — but the rest need no special clearance.

There is a basic angle to this, with Arya wanting to use his vast experience in an attempt to see if a rally route can be opened through such seemingly unfriendly routes. Rallying in this area can then assume an “international” hue.

He plans the trips early February next year and so far sponsors like National Insurance and Aral have come forward, said Arya.

Best umpires

Aniruddha Banerjee has been named the Best Board Umpire for the season.

Pulak Chatterjee, Subhashish Chatterjee and Raju Sahani have been named the best Grade I, Grade II and Grade III umpires, respectively.

Two red cards

Sunil Hembram of Milan Bithee and Kamal Ghosh of BNR were given marching orders in a CFL group A match Wednesday. BNR won 1-0.

In a Super Division match, Eastern Railway beat West Bengal Police 1-0, Saikat Mondal scoring the winner.

Waterpolo meet

Indian Life Saving Society (ILSS) and YMCA earned victories in their all-Bengal Arnika Plus open waterpolo meet over the YMCA course Wednesday.

ILSS beat Rishra Swimming Club 12-5, Babu Naiya scoring six goals, while YMCA pipped Central Swimming Club 3-2.

Schools meet

Kharija Berubari HS beat Siliguri JC Vidyapith 1-0 in their Britannia-Anandabazar Cup district football meet match in Cooch Behar Wednesday, according to information reaching here. Uttam Roy was the scorer.


WATERPOLO: All-Bengal Arnika Plus open — CSA vs YMCA, 3.15pm; College Square vs ILSS, 4.15pm. Matches over the YMCA course.

SOCCER: CFL, first division group B — Garalgacha vs Victoria (SAP II); Muslim Inst. vs Taltola DS (Barasat Stadium); Behala Youth vs Tangra FC (Bata Stadium); Barisha SC vs Anushilani (Mohun Bagan); United Students vs Bata Sports (Juger Pratik); Sporting Union vs Janbazar AC (EB); Aikya Sammilani vs Rajasthan (Md. Sp.) Matches from 3:30 pm.

Email This Page