The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Bhratri puncture CPT bubble
- Sanjib Sashmal, P. Manoharan end giantkillers’ run

Calcutta: Bhratri Sangha sailed past Calcutta Port Trust 2-0 in a Super Division tie at Howrah Municipal Stadium Monday. Sanjib Sashmal and P. Manoharan scored in either half.

CPT failed to keep the momentum after upsetting Mohammedan Sporting in their earlier match. On the other hand, Bhratri, fresh from their win over Tollygunge Agragami, showed great enthusiasm and apenchant for dominating proceedings.

Unlike some of the enclosed grounds on the Maidan, the lush green outfield also made things easier for the players.

CPT had started off positively, raiding the rival territory often, but once Bhratri struck midway in the first half, all that ended in a whimper. Sashmal made the most of a loose ball against the run of play.

Catching the CPT defence napping, he kept his cool as his right footer from the left edge of the box evaded a diving Sandip Guha.

CPT found it hard to regroup up front from then on. Pratap Senapati shot straight to the goalkeeper following a cross from Sashmal on the left.

The Portmen had a close shave in the fag end of the first half. Guha had rushed out to clear the ball and was dispossessed near the box. The alert defenders helped retrieve the situation.

A similar folly by Guha, however, led to the second goal in the 80th minute. Substitute Manoharan latched onto the ball after side stepping Guha, who failed to recover lost ground. Manoharan’s curling shot from the left corner crashed into the roof of the net.

Bhratri struck once more in the second session but the goal was disallowed because of offside. Referee Gopinath Pyne’s decision did draw a lot of flak form the spectators.

CPT had to pay dearly for some wayward shooting. Sujit Dey missed a sitter, shooting wide with only the goalkeeper to beat.

In another Super Division tie at the Mohun Bagan groun, Wari held Eastern Railway goalless .


Bhratri Sangha: Binod Malick, Avijit Dalal, Asto Karar, Amritlal Biswas, Sheikh Sikander, Swapan Munda, Debu Pradhan, Gautam Naha, Ranjan Sarkar, Pratap Senapati (P. Manoharan, 72), Sanjib Sashmal (Ohidul Islam, 45).

CPT: Sandip Guha, Simanta Das, Rabindra Karmakar, Madhusudhan Majumder, Tapan Das, Kaushik Prasad, Sandip Saha (Subha Kumar, 43), Arindam Deb (Sujit Dey, 43), Pronit Dey, Amar Pyne, Pradip Indu.

Referee: Gopinath Pyne.

Email This Page