The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page



TOLEDO, Round III leaders: 204 Bruce Lietzke (US) l 208 Tom Watson (US), Vicente Fernandez (Arg) l 212 Allen Doyle (US) l 215 Mike McCullough (US) l 216 Rodger Davis (Aus), Graham Marsh (Aus), Fuzzy Zoeller (US) l 217 Gil Morgan (US), Craig Stadler (US), Wayne Levi (US), Andy North (US) l 218 Dan Halldorson (Can), Mark McCumber (US) l 219 Tom Kite (US), Jose Maria Canizares (Spa), Joe Inman (US), Lanny Wadkins (US) l 220 Doug LaCrosse (US), Stewart Ginn (Mas), Ed Dougherty(US), Jim Dent (US), Tom Jenkins (US), Jay Sigel (US), Raymond Floyd (US), Hubert Green (US) l 221 Des Smyth (Ire), Fred Gibson (US), Don Pooley (US) l 222 Larry Nelson (US) l 223 Isao Aoki (Jpn) l 224 Jack Nicklaus (US) l 228 Gary Player (RSA).


MEMPHIS, Round III leaders: 199 Richard Johnson (Swe) l 200 David Toms (US) l 201 Tim Herron (US), Lee Janzen (US), David Peoples (US), Fredrik Jacobson (Swe) l 202 Ben Crane (US) l 203 Notah Begay III (US), Chris DiMarco (US), Joel Edwards (US), Bob Estes (US), Dicky Pride (US), Chris Riley (US), Kirk Triplett (US), Jay Haas (US), John Huston (US) l 204 David Gossett (US) l 205 Glen Day (US), Nick Price (Zim), Fred Funk (US), John Senden (Aus), Craig Barlow (US), Brandel Chamblee (US), Hank Kuehne (US), Pat Bates (US) l 206 Esteban Toledo (Mex), Jose Coceres (Arg) l 207 Robert Allenby (Aus), Thomas Levet (Fra), Stephen Ames (Tri) l 208 Greg Chalmers (Aus) l 209 Anthony Painter (Aus) l 211 Steven Alker (NZ) l 215 Aaron Baddeley (Aus) l 219 John Morgan (GBR).


ST QUENTIN, Round III leaders: 204 Philip Golding (GBR) l 205 Thomas Bjorn (Den), Pierre Fulke (Swe), David Howell (GBR), Barry Lane (GBR), Peter O’Malley (Aus) l 206 Stephen Gallacher (GBR), Raphael Jacquelin (Fra) l 207 Jose Manuel Lara (Spa), Jose Maria Olazabal (Spa), Marcel Siem (Ger) l 208 John Bickerton (GBR), Brian Davis (GBR), Robert-Jan Derksen (Ned), Simon Dyson (GBR), Miguel Angel Martin (Spa), Andrew Oldcorn (GBR) l 209 Richard Bland (GBR), Nicolas Colsaerts (Bel), Bradley Dredge (GBR), Soren Kjeldsen (Den), Peter Lawrie (Ire) l 210 Matthew Blackey (GBR), Gordon Brand Jnr (GBR), David Carter (GBR), Stephen Dodd (GBR), Mathias Gronberg (Swe), Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa), Santiago Luga (Spa), Martin Maritz (RSA), Ian Poulter (GBR), Carlos Rodiles (Spa), Justin Rose (GBR), Raymond Russell (GBR), Simon Wakefield (GBR).



First round, second leg: WIT Georgia Tbilisi (Geo) 2 SV Pasching (Aut) 1 (First leg: 0-1; SV Pasching win on away goals) l Pobeda (Mkd) 2 Trnava (Svk) 1 (First leg: 5-1; Pobeda win on aggregate) l NK Zagreb (Cro) 2 Koper (Slo) 2 (First leg: 0-1; Koper win on aggregate) l Orgryte (Swe) 3 Zalgiris Vilnius (Lit) 0 (First leg: 1-1. Orgryte win 4-1 on aggregate) l Hibernians (Mlt) 1 AC Allianssi (Fin) 1 (First leg: 0-1; AC Allianssi win on aggregate) l Maccabi Netanya (Isr) 3 Partizani Tirana (Alb) 1 (First leg: 0-2; Partizani win on away goals) l Kotayk (Arm) 3 Brno (Cze) 2 (First leg: 0-1; Brno win on away goals) l Ethnikos Achna (Cyp) 2 Gyori ETO (Hun) 2 (First leg: 1-1; Gyori win on away goals) l Gloria Bistrita (Rom) 5 Bangor City (Wal) 2 (First leg: 1-0. Gloria Bistrita win 6-2 on aggregate) l Olympiakos Nicosia (Cyp) 1 Dubnica (Svk) 4 (First leg: 0-3; Dubnica win on aggregate) l GI Gotu (Far) 0 Dacia Chisinau (Mda) 1 (First leg: 1-4; Dacia Chisinau win on aggregate) l KA Akureyri (Ice) 1 Sloboda (Bos) 1 (First leg: 1-1; Sloboda win on penalties, after extra time) l Omagh Town (Irl) 1 Shakhtyor Soligorsk (Blr) 7 (First leg: 0-1; Shakhtyor win on aggregate).


ST ETIENNE, third place play-off: Colombia 1 (Giovanni Hernandez 63) Turkey 2 (Tuncay Sanli 2, Okan Yilmaz 86)


ELCHE, final: Recreativo Huelva 0 Real Mallorca 3 (Walter Pandiani 21pen, Samuel Eto’o 74, 84)



Division I, DAY II: CHELMSFORD: Kent 381 all out (D.Fulton 93, G.Jones 84, M.Carberry 50; J.Middlebrook 6/123). Essex 423/5 (N.Hussain 192 n.o, A.Habib 77) l LEICESTER: Nottinghamshire 326 all out (P.Franks 123 n.o, K.Pietersen 88; P.DeFreitas 4/68). Leicestershire 159/2 (V.Sehwag 121) l LORD’S: Middlesex 370 all out (B.Hutton 101; M.Bicknell 5/92). Surrey 274/3 (I.Ward 104, M.Ramprakash 68 n.o) l HOVE: Sussex 545 all out (P.Cottey 188, M.Prior 100, R.Montgomerie 66, T.Ambrose 50; Waqar Younis 5/99). Warwickshire 194/8 (M.Powell 60) DIVISION II: CARDIFF: Glamorgan 270 all out (M.Powell 125; M.Mason 4/69, M.Hayward 4/71). Worcestershire 315/8 (S.Adshead 58 n.o, M.Mason 52) l SOUTHAMPTON: Gloucestershire 185 all out and 50/2. Hampshire 330 all out (D.Kenway 115, S.Katich 61, R.Smith 50; I.Harvey 4/73) l NORTHAMPTON: Northamptonshire 203 all out (P.Jaques 60, M.Hussey 59; N.Dumelow 5/82, L.Wharton 4/50) and 243 all out (P.Jacques 57, N.Dumelow 5/78). Derbyshire 160 all out (N.Dumelow 52 n.o; J.Brown 4/39, A.Nel 4/52) and 0-0 l TAUNTON: Somerset 275 all out in 67 ovs (R.Turner 81 n.o.; S.Kirby 5/74). Yorkshire 409/6 (M.Wood 207, S.Fleming 98).


BRISBANE, Day III: Queensland Academy of Sport 201 (Lee Carseldine 92, James Hopes 53) and 176 (Daniel Payne 52). Bangladesh 203/9 decl. (Alok Kapali 55) and 145. Queensland Academy of Sport bt Bangladesh by 29 runs.

For the book

Olympic chiefs, after a meeting in Prague on Sunday, have decided to lift the suspension imposed on Afghanistan in 1999. The country will now return to the Olympic fold at the 2004 Athens Summer Games.

Email This Page