The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Indian players on top

Kozhikode: Indian players emerged leaders in all categories at the end of Round 5 in the Asian Youth Chess championship Wednesday. The only foreign player with a share of the lead was Vietnam’s Le Quang Liem — with Y. Sandeep in the boys’ under-12 section.

Second seed G. Rohit halted the winning streak of top-seeded Vietnamese Nguyen Ngoc Truong Son to emerge sole leader with five points in the under-14 section for boys. In girls’ under-14, J. Rajasurya drew with Vietnam’s Pham Bich Ngoc but still kept her lead with 4.5 points.

Trailing the joint leaders in the boy’s under-12 section were K. Narayanan and Navneet Sharma. In the girls’ half, third seed Lakshmi Praneetha was leading with five points ahead of No. 1 Ramya Krishna, who had four.

N. Srinath stayed on top in the boys’ under-10 section with 4.5 points, followed by eight Indians on 3.5 apiece. Lakshmi Sahiti was sole leader in the under-10 section for girls with five points, one ahead of Rucha Pujari.

In what was seen as the title-clash, overnight joint leader Troung Son lost a keenly fought match against Rohit. With two rounds to go, Rohit looks good for the title. Trailing him were Abhijeet Gupta, Rahul Sangma and Troung Son with four points each.

Mary Ann loses

Rajasurya’s surprise run gained momentum as she managed a draw against Pham Bich Ngoc of Vietnam. Soumya Swaminathan was second with 3.5 points following a win over top seed Mary Ann Gomes of Bengal.

Vietnam’s Le Quang Liem, the top seed who is sharing the lead with Sandeep in the under-12 section for boys, beat K. Narayanan in the fifth round.

In the under-12 section for girls, Praneetha got the better of Vietnam’s Ngo Dieh Hoa and moved atop the table.

In a surprise of sorts, defending champion Parimarjan Negi was held to a draw by K. Priyadarshan in the boys’ under-10 category, which left both players in the second spot with six others.

Rucha defeated J. Mohana Priya in the under-10 category for girls to claim the second spot. Closely following was V. Chaitanya on 3.5 points.

Email This Page