The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
NZ arrive on Sept. 23

Mumbai, June 7 (PTI): New Zealand, on their tour to India (they arrive September 23), will play two Tests — possibly in Bangalore and Mohali, though venues remain unconfirmed — after two preparatory three-dayers.

The Indians and the Black Caps then go into a tri-series also involving Australia. The final of that tournament is likely to be played in Calcutta.

That is the itinerary for the Indians before go to Australia where they play four Tests before launching into another tri-series also involving Zimbabwe.

The BCCI’s tour programme and fixture committee met here Saturday and approved the schedules. Board        secretary S. K. Nair later said though the dates of the home tri-series have been set, “the venues will be known after the June 30 working committee meeting in New Delhi.”

“The dates and venues during our team’s tour of Australia have been approved,” he said. New Zealand play Board President’s XI from September 26 to 28 and India A from October 2 to 4.

Mohali and Bangalore should get the Tests as per the rotation policy as should Calcutta the tri-series final, said Nair. The first Test is from October 8, and the second from October 16.

India’s action in Australia (they leave for Down Under November 21) November 25. That will be with a three-day match versus Victoria in Melbourne. Originally this match was to have started November 27. There are a couple of other changes in the minor matches.



(Venues to be decided June 30)

Sept. 26-28: 3-day tie vs Board President’s XI.

Oct. 2-4: 3-day tie vs India A.

Oct. 8-12: First Test.

Oct. 16-20: Second Test.


Oct. 23: India vs New Zealand

Oct. 26: India vs Australia.

Oct. 29: Australia vs New Zealand

Nov. 1: India vs Australia

Nov. 3: Australia vs New Zealand

Nov. 6: India vs New Zealand

Nov. 9: Australia vs New Zealand

Nov. 12: India vs Australia

Nov. 15: India vs New Zealand

Nov. 18: FINAL.


Nov. 25-27: 3-day tie vs Victoria (Melbourne)

Nov. 29-Dec. 1: 3-day tie vs Australia A (Brisbane)

Dec. 4-8: First Test (Brisbane)

Dec. 12-16: Second Test (Adelaide)

Dec. 18: One-day tie vs Prime Minister’s XI (Canberra)

Dec. 20-22: 3-day tie vs Australia A (Hobart)

Dec. 26-30: Third Test (Melbourne)

Jan. 2-6: Fourth Test (Sydney)


Jan. 9: India vs Australia (D/N, Melbourne)

Jan. 11: Australia vs Zimbabwe (D/N, Sydney)

Jan. 14: India vs Zimbabwe (Hobart)

Jan. 16: Australia vs Zimbabwe (Hobart)

Jan. 18: India vs Australia (D/N, Brisbane)

Jan. 20: India vs Zimbabwe (D/N, Brisbane)

Jan. 22: India vs Australia (D/N, Sydney)

Jan. 24: India vs Zimbabwe (D/N, Adelaide)

Jan. 26: Australia vs Zimbabwe (D/N, Adelaide)

Jan. 29: Australia vs Zimbabwe (D/N, Melbourne)

Feb. 1: India vs Australia (Perth)

Feb. 3: India vs Zimbabwe (D/N, Perth)

Feb. 6: First final (D/N, Melbourne)

Feb. 8: Second final (D/N, Sydney)

Feb. 10: Third final, if required (D/N, Brisbane).

Email This Page