The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Eight meet records fall on Day III

Calcutta, June 7: Eight meet records were created and one equalled on Day III of the 53rd state athletic championships at Salt Lake Stadium and SAI Eastern Centre Saturday.

Sushmita Singha Roy of Eastern Railway broke a 10-year old meet record of 4,070, held by Lipika Sarkar, with 4175 points in heptathlon.

Her teammate Mukti Saha clocked 22.2 seconds in women’s 200m to better her own mark of 24.4.

Tarit Singha Roy of Mohun Bagan bettered his own meet record in men’s 100m by clocking 10.5 seconds. His previous best was 10.6. Mohun Bagan’s Souvik Bhattacharya’s effort of 15.46m in men’s shot put erased Subhashish Banerjee’s record of 15.18 set in 1999.

Banani Biswas of Central Excise fell at the start of the women’s 800m and disjointed her elbow. She was rushed to a nearby hospital. Dolly Sarkar of City AC won the event.

Others to have set records on Saturday were D. Lachhyye of North 24 Parganas (13.61m in shot put for boys under-20), Mithun Kundu of North 24 Parganas (3,649 in heptahlon for girls under-18), Jhuma Khatun of City AC (2:19.00 in 800m for girls under-20), Rahamatullah Mollah of South 24 Parganas (10.9 in 100m for boys under-18).

The record equalled was in the under-20 girls’ 200m where Shilpi Dhali of Nadia DSA clocked 25.1 seconds, equalling Shukla Biswas’ 1995 mark.


MEN — Shot put: Souvik Bhattacharya (Mohun Bagan, 15.46m); U 16, High jump: Prakash Mondal (Nadia DSA, 1.70m); U-18, high jump: Ali Box (Aryan, 1.80m); Shot put U-20: D. Lachhyyee (North 24 Pgns, DSA 13.61 m); 400m men’s: Achintya Mahato (East Bengal, 55.53); U-20, 400m: Shyamsundar Mondal (N 24 Pgns, 58.2); U-20, High jump: Dilip Singh (Jalpaiguri, 1.75m); U-18, Shot put: Shirajul Haq (Malda, 11.72m); U-20, 100m: Manoj Das (Siliguri, 11.1); Men’s, 100m: Tarit Singha Roy (Mohun Bagan, 10.5); U-16, 100m: Subrata Das (N 24 Pgns, 11.6); U-18, 100m: Rahamatullah Mollah (S 24 Pgns, 10.9); U-16, Shot put: Srimanta Dhara (S 24 Pgns, 11.68m)

WOMEN — U-20, 3000m: Sujata Samanta (City AC, 11:01.08); U-18, 3000m: Pratima Tudu (Srerampore SSA, 10:55.8); Women 20km walk: Kabita Das (North 24 Pgns, 2::12::12:40.0); U-20, 10 km walk: Moumita Das (City AC, 1::12:02.0); U-16, Javelin: Parbati Roy (Jalpaiguri DSA, 27.93m); Kalabati Paswan (N 24 Pgns, 34:11); U-16, 3km walk: Rima Saha (N 24 Pgns, 20:11); U-20, 200m: Silpi Dhali (Nadia DSA, 25.1); U-16, High Jump: Prakash Mondal (Nadia DSA, 1.70m); U-16, Long jump: Safina Khatun (City AC, 5.43m); U-18, Javelin: Anandamayee Mondal (Burswan DSA, 33.41m); U-16, Pentathlon: Safina Khatun (City AC, 2548 pt); U-18, Long jump: Jasminara Khatun (S 24 Pgns DSA, 5.02m); Women, 400m hurdles: Sumana Mondal (Pioneer SA, 1:02.2); Women’s, 200m: Mukti Saha (ERSA, 22.2); Women’s Long jump: Kalpana Das (ERSA, 5.80m); U-18, 200m: Rekha Halder, N-24 Pgns, 26.7); U-20, Long jump: Pampa Mohapatra (Midnapore, 5.13m); U-20, Javelin: Lincy Biswas (Nadia, 37.44m); Women’s, Javelin: Tia Das (Burdwan DSA, 34.90m); U-18, 800m: Monica Biswas (Nadia DSA, 2:22.6); U-16, 800m: Jhuma Khatun (City AC, 2:19.00); U-20, 800m: Seema Mazumdar (Nadia DSA (2:12.6); Women’s, Heptathlon: Sushmita Singha Roy (ERSA, 4175), U-20, Heptathlon: Pampa Mohapatra (Midnapore, 3151); U-18, Heptathlon: Mithun Kundu (N 24 Pgns, 3469).

Email This Page