The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Bhagyashree finishes on top

Kozhikode: Veteran Bhagyashree Thipsay (IDBI) won the 30th women’s national B chess championship, courtesy a better progressive score, after a three-way tie at the top Thursday.

Playing on the second board, the five-time national A champion drew her final-round match with second seed Tania Sachdev (Delhi) to tie on seven points with M. R. Sangeetha (Tamil Nadu) and Koneru Chandrahasa (CCA).

However, a better progressive score of 39 clinched the issue for the third seed Bhagyashree while Sangeetha and Koneru finished on 38.5 and 37 respectively.

Saheli Nath of Bengal finished ninth on 6.5 with a last-round win against statemate Supriya Maji. She became the only Bengal player to qualify for National A.

Swati Mohota (6) and Saheli Dhar Barua (5), also from Bengal, however, couldn’t finish in the top 10.

While Dhar Barua went down to Dolan Champa Bose of Jharkhand in the final round, Mohota came up trumps against N. Sandhya of Kerala. Mary Ann Gomes finished on six with a win over Madhuri M. Patil.

Fourth seeded Anupama Gokhale (PSCB) and Tania finished fourth and fifth with 6.5, the former holding a better progressive score. Top seeded Swati Ghate finished a dismal 18th on six. The top 10 finishers will now be eligible for national A meet.


Bhagyashree Thipsay, M.R. Sangeetha, Koneru Chandrahasa, Anupama Gokhale, Tania Sachdev, Kruttika Nadig, Prathiba Y., Saimeera Ravi, Saheli Nath, Eesha Karavade.

Email This Page