The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
25 cars in fray

Calcutta: Twenty five cars and 25 motorcycles will take part in the sixth Servo Kaviguru Rally to be held Saturday.

The Bengal Motor Sports Club (BMSC)-organised rally, to be flagged off from the Netaji Indoor Stadium — to terminate in Santiketan — is sponsored by Indian Oil Corporation, in association with The Telegraph, Priya Biscuits and Kanteen. The rally will cover a distance of 308 km with a run time of seven and-a-half hours. Governor Viren J. Shah will flag off the cars.

“The total prize money for the event will be Rs 91,500. While the first among four-wheelers will bag Rs 25,000, the two-wheeler champion will be richer by Rs 12,500,” said BMFC president Rajat Mazumdar.

Among the four-wheeler participants will be Sanjay Arya, Chandrachud Bhattacharya, Prasanta Paul and the evergreen Nani Gopal Chandra. Also in fray will be Mitil Chakraborty as well as Arindam Ghosh.

The two-wheeler category will see participation from stalwarts like top seed Rana Dey, Mukesh Thakkar and Valmiki Biswas. Outstation entries include Manish Chakravarty from Jamshedpur, Debraj Banerjee and Amlan Ghosh from Siliguri in the two-wheeler category.

Email This Page