The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Old format likely for Duleep Trophy

Calcutta: The Duleep Trophy is likely to go back to its old format from the next season.

Last season, the Duleep Trophy format was changed to make it more competitive. However, the plan has “fallen flat”.

It was learnt that most of the players who had played in the Duleep Trophy have expressed reservation about the new format, saying it “lacks the fellow-feeling that is vital for a team sport”.

In fact, six from Bengal — Rohan Gavaskar, Devang Gandhi, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Sourashish Lahiri, Deep Dasgupta and Ranadeb Bose — had played in different categories of the Duleep Trophy.

The Bengal players, in a recent meeting, had conveyed their displeasure about the new format to the CAB hierarchy. And this feeling, in turn, will be conveyed to the BCCI in the captains’ meeting, slated to be held in the first week of June.

This year, instead of five zonal teams, three teams from the Elite and two from the Plate groups were chosen to play in a round-robin format. Elite C, led by Shiv Sundar Das, were champions.

Meanwhile, the under-25 national meet, launched this year, is also likely to go back to the old under-22 format.

Email This Page