The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Suhrid Mitra, Durgapur CCC in final

Suhrid Mitra CCC will meet Durgapur CCC in the final of the Pepsi-CAB Ambar Roy sub-junior meet. In the semi-finals at the Eden Gardens Thursday, Suhrid Mitra CCC won by the virtue of losing fewer wickets following a tied encounter with SLAB.

Both teams scored 147 but while SLAB were all out in the 30th over, Suhrid Mitra had lost eight wickets. For Suhrid Mitra CCC, Himangshu Dutta top-scored with an unbeaten 39 followed by Sajib Saha’s 35.

In the other semi-final, Durgapur CCC rode Sujay Kundu’s half-century and Sayan Sekhar Mondal’s five-wicket haul to a 37-run win over Biswanath CCC. While it was Suhrid Mitra CCC’s second entry into the final, Durgapur CCC made their third entry into the title-round. The final comes off on Saturday.


- Suhrid Mitra CCC 147/8 in 30 ovs (Himangshu Dutta 39 n.o., Sajib Saha 35). SLAB 147 in 29.4 (Mayukh Dutta 49, Tarak Dutta 27; Sajib Saha 3/26). Suhrid Mitra CCC won by virtue of losing lesser number of wickets.

- Durgapur CCC 167/6 in 30 (Sujay Kundu 50, Rabi Sankar Prasad 28, Subhradip Bhattacharjee 27). Biswanath CCC Palta 130/9 in 30 (Sandip Halder 29; Sayan Sekhar Mondal 5/24). Durgapur CCC won by 37 runs.

Cluster meet

Forty seven teams will take part in the cluster tournament, organised by IFA, at 12 district towns beginning Friday. The winners of the 22-day tournament will be given a direct entry into 109th IFA Shield. Tata Steel will sponsor the meet.

Army XI has been given a bye into the main draw. Eastern Railway and Burdwan University will play the opening match at Ranigunj.

Sub-jr volleyball

The state sub-junior volleyball championships for boys and girls will be held at Bhadreswar Subhas Maidan from May 30. More than 450 players will represent different district teams in the tournament.

The championship will be played on a league-cum-knock out basis. The finals come off on June 1.

The state squads for the sub-junior national meet will be selected after this meet.

Merchants’ Cup

Thursday’s matches of The Telegraph-Haywards 5000 Merchants’ Cup football meet were washed out following a downpour. The matches will be rescheduled next week.

Calcutta Cup

Samad Akhtar’s hattrick went in vain as Atlanta lost to Ashok Malhotra CA by seven wickets in the Vijay Sports Club-organised Calcutta Cup Thursday. Sandip Das scored 59 for the winners.

BRIEF SCORES: Atlanta 99/7 (Samad Akhtar 4/12). Ashok Malhotra CA 105/3 (Sandip Das 59). Ashok Malhotra CA won by 7 wickets.


FOOTBALL: The Telegraph-Haywards 5000 Merchants’ Cup: (from 7 pm): The Park vs BDA Ltd; Derek O’Brien Associates vs Tata Consultancy; Accel ICIM vs Bates India; Rediffusion vs Price Waterhouse. (from 7.30 pm): Transways vs The Telegraph; Exide vs Netguru Info; Airtel vs Bayview Tech; ONGC vs Bata India Ltd. (8 pm): Sanjeevani Projects vs HCL Infosys; Transworld vs Eveready; Carritt Moran vs McNally Bharat; Norinco vs Seahorse.

FOOTBALL: Women’s League: Bidyut Sporting vs Rampur MS (Howrah Stadium, 3.30 pm).

FOOTBALL: CFL, 4th and 5th division matches at various Maidan grounds from 4 pm.

Email This Page