The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Home boys win it for Tolly

Calcutta: Tollygunge Agragami, in their quest for a second trophy in local cricket this season, had banked on outstation recruits. Tollygunge did triumph, but it was the home players who upstaged their more fancied compatriots to ensure the P. Sen Trophy.

At Eden Gardens Monday, the experience of the Tollygunge players finally helped them scrape past Kalighat by four wickets.

Chasing a 217-run target, Tollygunge ran into early trouble as Sabbir Ali ripped through the top-order on the slow and low wicket. They were reduced to 13 for three in the ninth over — Arindam Das, Kunal Bajpayee and Amay Khurasia being the casualties.

Sanjay Bangar and Srikant Kalyani tried to repair the damage but the India allrounder’s stay was shortlived. He departed when on 26 and Tollygunge were struggling at 59 for four in the 21st over.

When all hope seemed lost Kalyani took charge. He survived a chance at mid on early in the innings but did not look back. Relying more on singles, he added 70 for the fifth wicket with Jai Prakash Yadav.

The former India allrounder looked in good touch. He hit a straight six off Ajay Verma but failed in trying to clear the mid wicket fence off the very next ball.

Kalyani then found an able partner in Alokendu Lahiri. Once Kalyani (64 off 84 balls) left, Alokendu and Avijit Ganguly guaranteed the target was achieved.

Tollygunge needed 38 off the last five overs. Sabbir was expensive in his second spell as Alokendu and Avijit cut loose. It was their determination and Kalighat’s inexperience in the final stages that settled the issue for Tollygunge.

Tollygunge emerged champions in the P. Sen and Knockout this season while Mohun Bagan won the senior division league, J.C. Mukherjee and A.N. Ghosh titles.


Kalighat 216/6 in 50 ovs. (Mohammed Ziauddin 69, Manoj Tewari 30, Sanjib Sanyal 38). Tolygunge Agragami 218/6 in 48.4 (Srikant Kalyani 64, Jai Prakash Yadav 40, Alokendu Lahiri 31 n.o., Avijit Ganguly 27 n.o.). Tollygunge won by 4 wickets.

Email This Page