The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Bengal boys go down to Maharashtra PK for Bagan academy La Martiniere for Boys best Sarat Samity emerge winners Junior tennis

l Bengal lost to Maharashtra by a solitary goal in the under-21 national football championships in Ballia (Uttar Pradesh) on Monday. According to information received here, the goal was scored late in the first half. To make matters worse, Syed Rahim Nabi suffered an injury and may be unavailable for the next game.

Bengal had won their first group league match 3-0 against Tamil Nadu. They now need a draw against Punjab to make the semis.

l P.K. Banerjee will be the chief advisor of Mohun Bagan’s football academy in Durgapur. Shyam Thapa has been named chief coach.

In the inter-club transfers Monday, Sandip Nandy withdrew in favour of East Bengal. Mohammedan Sporting have confirmed Trijit Das.

l La Martiniere for Boys defeated Julien Day Kalyani 2-1 in the final to emerge champions in the Anglo-Indian schools’ hockey meet, organised by St James, Monday.

Sarosh Nicholas scored for the winners in the 32nd and 45th minutes. Subir Danda reduced the margin for the Kalyani school team.

l Atlanta Club and Sarat Samity won their matches in the Calcutta Cup organised by Vijay Sports Club Monday.


Milan Samity CCC 145/8 in 25 (Subhodip Chanda 45, Manprit Singh 33; Chiranjit Das 4/36). Atlanta 146/3 in 25 (B. Amit 36, Indrajit Mazumder 69). Atlanta won by 7 wkts.

Sarat Samity 173/6 in 25 (Wahid Hossain 57, Kaushik Ghosh 37). United Club 127/9 in 25 (Jeet Doshi 39, Abhishek Dey 30.) Sarat Samity won by 46 runs.

l Top seed Ranjan Prasad, second seed Dharamveer Viswakarma sailed into the second round of the under-14 main draw of the Britannia junior age-group tennis meet Monday. Dhrub Arora, Santosh Kr Ram, Toufique Alam, Tohid Alam, Sourav Choudhury, Rohit Kumar, Sk Asgar, Ayan Dasgupta, Varun Sukul, Shivraj Singh, Md Imran and Md Ismile also won their first round matches.

In the under-10 section, Dhrub Bajoria, Arkojit Basak, Keshav Bhadari, Vedant Gupta, Yuvraj Bains, Vinayak Chatterejee, Rohini Pandit and Avijit Hait made it to Round II.

BADMINTON: Players’ Association organised meet, Day II, Ordnance Club.

TENNIS: Junior age-group meet at Ordnance Club.

Email This Page