The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Mohun Bagan in P. Sen semis

Mohun Bagan cruised into the semi-finals of the P. Sen Trophy Tuesday, thanks to a 91-run win over Combined Universities. Amarpreet Singh and Tirtha Roy struck half-centuries for Mohun Bagan, who opted for first strike and were all out for 270. Universities managed 179 for six with more than two-thirds of the tally coming from Avishek Roychowdhury and Subhajit Pal’s bats.

On Wednesday, the star-studded Tollygunge Agragami take on Eastern Railway. Donning Tollygunge colours will be three internationals — Sanjay Bangar, J.P. Yadav and Amay Khurasia.


Mohun Bagan 270 (Amarpreet Singh 63, Tirtha Roy 54, Lakshmi Ratan Shukla 45, Shiv Sagar Singh 33; Rishi Sharma 4/48). Combined Universities 179/6 (Avishek Roychowdhury 66, Subhajit Paul 60; Sanjib Sanyal 3/21). Mohun Bagan won by 91 runs.

National HS emerge best

National High School (Boys) won the inter-district school meet (under-19) for the Pepsi-CAB Dattu Phadkar Trophy Monday.

In the final at Hooghly DSA ground, National HS beat Howrah district toppers Akshay Sikshayatan by 26 runs for their second successive title.


National HS (Boys) 242 in 44.3 ovs (Jaspinder Singh Raipur 50, Tamojit Ghosh 44, Abhishek Dutta 31, Subhankar Ghosh 30; Sachin Jain 2/48). Akshay Sikshayatan 216 in 44 ovs (Sachin Jain 57, Bittu Baksi 36; Vinod Singh 3/32, Ambarish Yadav 3/39, Tamojit Ghosh 2/41). National HS won by 26 runs.

Rajat for Salgaocar

Rajat Ghosh Dastidar will don Salgaocar colours next season. The Mohun Bagan custodian, who did duty for India at several international meets including last year’s Busan Asian Games, got an offer which was “too good” to turn down. Mohun Bagan, where he had been playing for three seasons, weren’t too keen to retain him. “I also had offers from Mahindra and Mohammedan Sporting, but Salgaocar really honoured me,” the custodian told The Telgraph from Goa.

He had played for Salgaocar in the 1997-98 season and then a couple in Tollygunge Agragami before moving to Bagan.

1000 for ACAB athletics meet

About a thousand athletes are expected to take part in the Athletic Coaches Association of Bengal (ACAB)-organised inter-coaching camp performance trial meet at Salt Lake Stadium and SAI on May 17 and 18.

Competitions will be held in 50 events in five age-groups — under-12, under-14, under-16, under-18 and above 18, the organisers announced at a press conference Tuesday.

The 50 best boys and girls will be selected for a 14-day residential camp immediately after the two-day meet.

The top three in each event will earn Rs 500, 300 and 200 respectively. A state record will fetch an athlete Rs 5,000 and the concerned coach Rs 10,000.

This is the first in a series of meets chalked out by ACAB with an eye on producing more medal-winners from the state at the 2006 Doha Asian Games.

Volleyball league

Port Trust notched up a crucial win Tuesday to remain in the hunt for the WBVA first division league title. Port got the better of Friends of the Stadium 25-20, 22-25, 25-15, 25-23.

Roller skating

Skaters from Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat dominated Day III of the 40th national roller skating championships at Salt Lake Tuesday.

RESULTS (Winners all)

Road race II (Inline) 2000m, 8-10 yrs — Boys: Pranay Dhole Patil (Maha); Girls: Ankita Mahangde (Maha). 3000m, 10-12 — Boys: Akash Khatri (Maha); Girls: A. Saba Chowdhary (AP).

Point to point race (Inline) 10,000m above-14 boys: Abbas Lasaniya (AP); 10,000m 12-14 boys: Pankaj Poojan Pateel (Guj); 5000m above-14 girls: Khushboo Saini (Har); 5000m 12-14 girls: Nimish Heer Patel (Guj).

Freestyle 8-10 boys: B.P. Karunakaran (AP); 8-10 girls: K. Anushka (AP); 10-12 boys: Tanmay Shah (Maha); 10-12 girls: Avani Panchal (AP).

Figure skating, 12-14 boys: Abhishek Munshaw (Guj); 12-14 girls: Devanshi Unadkat (Maha).

Gharia hattrick

BNR overcame Howrah Union 3-0 in a BHA first division group A league tie Tuesday. Rajesh Gharia scored all the goals.

Sub-jr kabaddi

Burdwan emerged champions in the under-14 boys category of the WBKA-organised sub-junior kabaddi meet, thrashing Nadia 73-29.

In the under-12 boys final, Habra overcame Manasa Sangha 45-40.

Meanwhile, the inaugural all-Bengal invitation meet for the Arati Gupta Smriti Challenge Cup will be held on May 30 and June 1. The matches will be held at the B.K. Pal Park.


CRICKET: P. Sen Trophy: Tollygunge Agragami vs Eastern Railway (Eden Gardens, 9.30 am).

HOCKEY: BHA League, 1st div. grp. A: CESC vs ERSA (E. B., 3.30 pm); Customs vs CPT (MB, 3.30 pm).

FOOTBALL: Women’s league: Mohun Bagan vs Nabajanma Sangha (Howrah Stadium); Bally Gramanchal vs Rampur MS (Rabindra Sarobar). Matches from 3.30 pm.

ROLLER SKATING: 40th national meet at SAI complex, Salt Lake.

Email This Page