The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Customs make it ten out of ten

Calcutta Customs kept their all-win run going in the BHA group A league Monday beating Eastern Railway 2-0, the goals coming from Imran Ahmed and Satbinder Singh.

Customs now have 30 points from ten matches and need only a draw in their next match Wednesday against CPT to emerge champions.

In another match, CESC overcame CPT by a T. Kullu goal.

Kalighat win

Kalighat rode medium pacer Shabir Aliís five-wicket haul to a four-wicket victory over Suburban in the P. Sen Trophy Monday. They will meet the winners of Mohun Bagan-Combined Universities in the semi-final.

BRIEF SCORES: Suburban 110 in 35.3 ovs (Santa Bhattacharya 28, Shabir Ali 5/10. Kalighat 111/6 in 38.3 (Sourav Seal 25; Sushanta Ghoshal 3/30). Kalighat won by 4 wickets.

Roller skating

M. Venkatesh and C.H. Harshita of Andhra Pradesh won the under-8 pair skating event of the 40th national roller skating championships at SAI complex Monday.

RESULTS (all winners): Road race I (quads) ó BOYS: U-8: Shashank Choudhary (Mah); 8-10: A. Satvik (AP); 10-12: Dhruv Gautam (Har); 12-14: Gaurav Patwardhan (Mah); Above-14: Harshal Mudhphan (Mah). GIRLS: U-8: Parmar Barkha Keshubhai (Guj); 8-10: Manasi Bhide (Mah); 10-12: N. Navya (AP); 12-14: Manasi Shinolikar (Mah); Above 14: Urmilla Nanaware (Mah).

Road race II (Inline) ó BOYS: 12-14: R. Balaji (Kar); Above 14: Abbas Iqbal Lasania (AP). GIRLS: 12-14: Heer Patel (Guj); Above 14: Varsha S. Puranik (Kar).

Pair skating ó U-8: M. Venkatesh & C.H. Harshita (AP). 8-10: P. Karunakar & K. Anusha (AP).

Figure skating ó BOYS: U-8: C.H. Akhil (AP); Above 14: K. Vamshi (AP). GIRLS: Above 14: Natasha Shah (Mah).

Douglas stays

Douglas da Silva and S. Malsawmtluanga decided to stay with East Bengal for one more season at the inter-club transfers Monday. Amjad Ali withdrew in favour of Mohammedan Sporting. Tollygunge Agragami retained Akeem Abolanle and Isiaka Awoyemi and gained Chinmoy Banerjee.

Kho-kho double

The state kho-kho team won the menís and womenís titles in the 12th East Zone championships in Dhanbad recently. In the menís final, Bengal beat Jharkhand while the women got past MP.

Meanwhile, Bengal Olympic Association will felicitate the medal winners of the 32nd National Games in Hyderabad at Netaji Indoor Stadium Thursday at 3.30 pm.


CRICKET: P. Sen Trophy: Mohun Bagan vs Combined Universities (Eden Gardens, 9.30 pm).

HOCKEY: BHA league, first division group A: BNR vs Howrah Union (East Bengal, 2 pm). Kaivan Cup (quarter final): Ballygunge Inst. Vs Student AC (CFC, 2 pm). Lagden Shield (qtr final): Police AC vs Muslim Inst. (Md.Sp., 2.30 pm); Student AC vs BSF South Bengal (3.45 pm).

FOOTBALL: Womenís league: WB Income Tax vs Jubak Sangha (Howrah Stadium); Itika Memorial vs NPC Sp. Academy (Rabindra Sarobar). Matches from 2 pm.

ROLLER SKATING: National championships at SAI complex.

Email This Page