The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Kaviguru Rally on May 31

The sixth Kaviguru Rally from the city to Shantiniketan for four and two-wheelers will be held on May 31, 2003. Bengal Motor Sports Club, organisers of the event, said entry forms will be available from May 10 at the club office. This rally is an annual event of the club and a part of the national championship. It will cover a distance of approximately 350km.

Ladies’ golf

The Calcutta Ladies’ Golf Club-organised Gold Cup tournament will be played at the club course from Friday to Saturday. The tournament will be a team with each one of them consisting of three players. The tee-off on each day will be from 6 am to 8.30 am.

Junior cricket

P. Sen Memorial CCC, Chandranath Memorial CCC, Mainland Sambaran Banerjee Academy and Calcutta Cricket Coaching Centre posted victories in the N.C. Kolay Memorial junior (115 points) cricket tournament.


n Ashok Malhotra CA 123/9 in 25 ovs (Mohan Kayal 32, Debanjan Saha 3/15, Biswanath Karmakar 3/31). Calcutta Cricket Coaching Centre 127/5 in 24 ovs (Avishek Mitra 38). CCCC won by 5 wkts.

n Sambaran Banerjee CA 138 in 24.3 ovs (Bazlur Rahman 55, Papai Sarkar 31, Debabrata Singha Roy 4/30). Khurut Satyen Kar Ambar Roy CCC 81 in 21.5 ovs (Atish Mitra 5/16). Sambaran Banerjee CA won by 57 runs.

n Chandranath MCCC 200/3 in 25 ovs (Palash das 56 n.o., B. Amit 55 n.o., Prabir Ghosh 33 n.o.). Bally CCC 155/6 in 25 ovs (Vikramaditya Majumdar 36). Chandranath MCCC won by 45 runs.

n P. Sen MCCC 205/7 in 25 ovs (Krishnendu Sarkar 87, Rupam Banerjee 53, Abir Bhandari 3/29). Chetla Agrani 199/9 in 25 ovs (Dipanjan Sengupta 85). P. Sen MCCC won by 6 runs.

14-goal rout

Dum Dum Kumar Ashutosh Institution hammered Baranagore Ramkrishna Mission HS 14-0 in the Britania Ananda Bazar Cup inter-school football tournament Monday. Mohammed Aftab and Sukumar Roy both posted hattricks.

Tennis qualifiers

Arjun Vaidya, Mohammed Imran, Pankaj Thapa, Vivek Reddy, Vishnu Rajan, Dharamveer Biswakarma, Mohammed Aaqib and Arpit Sharma Monday qualified for the main draw of the AITA Super Series tennis tournament. The tournament proper starts Wednesday.

BHA League

CCFC beat BSF North Bengal 4-0 in a BHA League first division group A match. Amitav Manikpuri scored two, Alauddin and Noel Tirkey completed the tally. WB Police beat BNR 3-2 in another match. Gurupada Gope (2) and Sanjib Chatterjee scored for the winners. A.S. Tete and Nageshwar Toppo struck for BNR.


CRICKET: J.C. Mukherjee Trophy final: Last day at Eden Gardens from 10 am.

FOOTBALL: Inter-school meet: Momin HS vs Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan; Park Circus HS vs Shyamaprasad Mukherjee Institution.

HOCKEY: BHA League, first div. (group A): Eastern Railway vs WB Police (East Bengal); CESC vs FCI (Mohun Bagan). Matches from 3.30 pm.

Email This Page