The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Devang Gandhi main worry for Mohun Bagan

Mohun Bagan start favourites against Tollygunge Agragami in the J.C. Mukherjee Trophy final, starting at Eden Gardens from Monday. Both Tollygunge and Mohun Bagan notched up big wins against the semi-final opponents — East Bengal and Eastern Railway, respectively. While Mohun Bagan, who also won the A.N. Ghosh Trophy and CAB League this season, look a balanced side and boast of strong batting line-up, Tollygunge seem to be a one-man show. Former India opener Devang Gandhi is in striking form of late and his unbeaten 194 literally sent fancied East Bengal for a six. Devang will again be the main thorn in Mohun Bagan’s way to the third success of the season.

CAB victorious

CAB crushed Bihar by 57 runs in the all India under-19 inter-state cricket tournament on Sunday.

Summarised scores

- CAB 194/4. Bihar 137. CAB won by 57 runs.

- Chairman XI 190/6. Maharashtra 176. Chairman XI won by 14 runs.

- Uttar Pradesh 116/7. Madhya Pradesh 117/4. MP won by 6 wkts.

- Sonnet Club (Delhi) 99. Orisa 104/2. Orissa won by 8 wkts.

Iqbal hits 87

Shivaji Sangha of Howrah won their N.C. Kolay junior cricket meet against Sinthee Roy Para CCC by 31 runs. Iqbal Ali scored 87 for the winners.


- Shute Banerjee CCC 140/5 (Sanjay Roy Chowdhury 35; Debayan Sarkar 3/26). Russa United 143/6 (Anujit Kundu 43). Russa United won by 4 wkts.

- Suhrid Mitra CCC 146/9 (Arnab Saha 42; Ujjwal Ghosh 3/20). Sarsuna CCC 147/4 (Saptarshi Biswas 56 n.o.). Sarsuna CCC won by 6 wkts.

- Shivaji Sangha 187/5 (Iqbal Ali 87). Sinthee Roy Para CCC 156 (Avijit Bose 40; Sashank Sekhar Tapikar 4/29). Shivaji Sangha won by 31 runs.

- Milan Samity 123/5 (Sourav Banik 43). Subhas Institute (Barasat) 127/2 (Aniket Basu 39). Subhas Institute won by 8 wkts.

Inter-club meet

Eastern Railway will take on YMCA B (Chowringhee) in the senior division final of the inter-club table tennis meet on Monday. In the semi-finals, Eastern Railway and YMCA beat CPT and YMCA A (Chowringhee) by identical 3-0 margins.

Cycle polo

B.C. Sen Jewellers and Sensea Marines were declared joint winners of the Merchant Cup cycle polo tournament, held at CCFC ground Saturday. The final was called off after heavy rains rendered the ground unsuitable for the match.


FOOTBALL: National League — Mohun Bagan vs HAL (Salt Lake Stadium, 3.45 pm).

CRICKET: J.C. Mukherjee Trophy final — Mohun Bagan vs Tollygunge Agragami (Eden Gardens from 10 am).

TABLE TENNIS: Inter-club meet finals at Khudiram Anushilan Kendra from 3 pm CRICKET: All India under-19 inter-state meet at ECDSC and Deshbandhu Park from 7.30 am.

HOCKEY: BHA League first division group A — BNR vs WB Police (East Bengal, 3.30 pm); CCFC vs BSF North Bengal (Mohun Bagan, 2pm). Group B — CLW vs BSF (S. Bengal) (Mohun Bagan 3.30 pm); Police AC vs Vivid (Md. Sp., 3.30 pm); Behala SA vs Shanti Sangha (Md. Sp., 2 pm); Sporting Union vs Chotonagpur RC (East Bengal, 2 pm).

TENNIS: AITA Super Series — Day I action at Dalhousie Athletic Club.

Email This Page