The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Bagan outplay EB in final

Calcutta: Mohun Bagan clinched their second title of the season, after the A.N. Ghosh Trophy, with a convincing 111-run win over East Bengal in the CAB league final on Monday.

Chasing 312 for victory, East Bengal were bundled out for a paltry 200, Bengal off-spinner Sourashish Lahiri (five for 51) doing the star-turn for Bagan.

Lahiri ran through the middle-order as East Bengal kept on losing wickets. East Bengal found themselves in a spot of bother straight away, losing Nikhil Haldipur (18) and Ajoy Das (35) early. They never really recovered, losing Safi Ahmed (27) and Humza Ferozie (0) in quick succession.

Captain Saikat Mukherjee (43) and Dharmendra Singh (29) started a bit of a revival for the sixth wicket, but Sourashish struck at the right moment. He induced a lofted sweep from Saikat to have him caught at deep square-leg.

ďItís vital winning the toss in these games. The moment we won the toss and put up 300 on the board, the game was almost wrapped up,Ē Mohun Bagan captain Utpal Chatterjee said.This was Mohun Baganís 28th league title.


Mohun Bagan 311. East Bengal 200 (Saikat Mukherjee 43, Ajoy Das 35; Sourashish Lahiri 5/51, Shibsagar Singh 2/44, Utpal Chatterjee 2/64). Mohun Bagan won by 111 runs.

Email This Page