The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Two Indian teams in fray

Calcutta: India will be represented at the 2003 Subaru Rally of Canberra by two teams with unmodified cars driven by a German and an Austrian.

The event, which is the first round of the Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC), is scheduled between Friday and Sunday, according to information reaching here.

Team MRF will be sending two Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 7 cars, to be driven by the 2001 European champion Armin Kremer of Germany (co-driver Fred Berssen of Germany) and young Austrian David Doppelreiter (co-driver Ola Fioene of Norway), who, incidentally, is also the Austrian national snowboarding champion. The entry list also includes reigning APRC champion Karamjit Singh (Proton) of Malaysia, 2002 Group N title winner Nico Caldarola (Top Run) of Italy, and former champion Possum Bourne of Australia.

One of the highlights of the Subaru Rally of Canberra is the new Super Special Stage, located in the Fairbairn Motorsport complex east of the city. It complements the existing jump and tunnel formation in the Kowen Forest, making the Subaru Rally of Canberra the only event in Australia with two such facilities on the one competitive programme.

Email This Page