The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Hattrick by Sur

Debapriya Sur and Saif Ali butchered Jodhpur Park Institute CCC with their fiery spells, helping Sports Lovers Association of Bengal (SLAB) win the Pepsi-CAB Ambar Roy sub-junior match hands down at High Court ground on Sunday. Debapriya claimed five for eight, including a hattrick, while Saif took three for five as Jodhpur Park caved in to their attack for just 39 in 13.4 ovs. SLAB took as many as four overs thereafter to clinch the issue.


Jodhpur Park Institute 39 (Debapriya Sur 5/8; Saif Ali 3/5). Sports Lovers Association of Bengal 43/0 (Rupam Shaw 32). SLAB won by 10 wkts.

Rajdanga Club Samannway Committee 64 (Pritam Barman 4/13, Chiranjit Roy 2/11). Friends of the Stadium 66/1 (Chandan Roy 43). FoS won by 9 wkts.

Sonarpur Sporting Union 172/7 (Rizuwan Ahmed 4/29). Marcus Square CC 94/7. Sonarpur Sporting Union won by 78 runs.

South Howrah CCC 240/4 (Stalin Ghosh 124). FD Block Association 73 (Harpreet Singh 3/13). South Howrah won by 167 runs..

Shimla Byayam Samity 126/4 (Amit Sarkar 54). Calcutta CCC (RS) 129/0 (Avishek Chatterjee 60, Arnab Chowdhury 47). CCCC won by 10 wkts.

Pioneer Co-Op CCC 101 (Abhijit Mondal 3/16). Durgapur CA 104/1 (Debapriya Ghosh 51). Durgapur CA won by 9 wkts.

Sub-junior meet

Pankaj Gupta CCC earned a comfortable 73-run victory over George Telegraph CCC in the opening match of the Shyamal Banerjee Memorial sub-junior cricket tournament (95 points) on Sunday.

Brief scores: Pankaj Gupta CCC 158/7 (Dinanath Shaw 45). George Telegraph CCC 85 (S. Dhara 4/16, R. Kagrana 3/12). Pankaj Gupta CCC won by 73 runs.

State chess

Paramita Ghosh emerged sole leader with four points after fourth round of the state women chess championship at Khudiram Anushilan Kednra on Sunday. She beat overnight joint leader Supriya Majhi.

Indradip Giri, however, continued to enjoy the top position among the junior competitors after the fifth round.


Junior category: Indradip Giri (5) bt Debaditya Sinha Biswas (4); Puneet Jaiswal (3.5) lost to Sourav Chakraborty (4.5); Abhijit Kar (3.5) lost to Adway Chowdhury (4.5). Women: Supriya Majhi (3) lost to Paramita Ghosh (4); Subhashree Pujari drew with Sunnetri Das (2.5); Swate Mohota (3) bt Mohona Sengupta (2.5); Sriya Bhattacharya (2.5) drew with Anu Gupta (2.5).


CHESS: State meet: Round VI play at Khudiram Anushilan Kendra from 2.30 6.30 pm.

HOCKEY: BHA League first division group B: Police AC vs Shanti Sangha (Md. Sporting, 3.30 pm).

CRICKET: CAB league final, day II at Eden Gardens from 10 am.

CRICKET: Ambar Roy memorial sub-junior meet at various grounds

Email This Page