The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Rai, Ryan add glitz to Cannes jury list

Paris, April 16 (Reuters): Sassy Hollywood actress Meg Ryan and Bollywood pin-up Aishwarya Rai will add some sparkle to the jury of the 56th Cannes film festival when it opens next month, the official jury list showed today.

The panel will be headed by French director Patrice Chereau, who won two Cannes awards in 1994 for Queen Margot, and includes Bosnian director Danis Tanovic whose war film No Manís Land took best screenplay at Cannes in 2001 and won an Oscar last year.

This yearís festival opens on May 14 with a remake of the 1952 film Fanfan La Tulipe, a swashbuckling 18th century drama starring Penelope Cruz, and will close on May 25 when the judges announce the top Palme díOr prize and other awards.

The list of films competing will be announced on April 23.

French actress Karin Viard and actor Jean Rochefort will sit on the jury alongside American Ryan, of When Harry met Sally fame, and Indiaís Rai, a former Miss World who brought Bollywood to Cannes last year with the glittering musical Devdas.

Outside France, film and theatre director Chereau is known as screenwriter of the 1998 blockbuster The Truman Show.

Also on the jury are Italian writer Erri de Luca, Sex, Lies and Videotape director Steven Soderbergh, who won the coveted Palme díOr for that film, and Chinese director Jiang Wen, who won the Grand Jury prize in 2000 for Devils on the Doorstep.

Email This Page