The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Emphatic victory for Elite C

Hyderabad: Elite C completed an emphatic nine-wicket win over Plate A on the fourth and final day of their Duleep Trophy match Sunday.

Chasing 168 for victory after bundling out Plate A for 182 in the second innings, Elite C resumed at 24 without loss and reached 172 for one in 46 overs. Satyajit Parab struck an unbeaten 95.

The Baroda opener added 128 in the unbroken second-wicket partnership with Yere Goud, who remained not out on 50. Shiv Sundar Das was out for 24.

Parab’s 138-ball knock was studded with four sixes and seven fours. He was severe on K. Ananthapadmnabhan who conceded 66 runs in ten overs.

Goud too played an enterprising knock and his 50 came off 71 balls with the help of two sixes and four boundaries.

In Bangalore, Reetinder Singh Sodhi-led Elite A scored their first victory in the Duleep Trophy beating Elite B by seven wickets here on Sunday.

Needing just 78 runs for an outright win, Elite A, who made 362 for eight declared in their first essay, reached the target for the loss of three wickets.

Sanjay Bangar (36 not out) and Y. Venugopal Rao (11 not out) saw them through after three wickets — Gautam Gambhir (5), S. Sriram (0) and Sodhi (15) — fell in quick succession.

This win earned them eight points, taking their total points tally to 17. Elite B, captained by M.S.K. Prasad, remain on 10 points. They take on Plate A in their final tie at Chennai from April 10.

Earlier, Elite B, resuming on their overnight 64 for four, were all out for 220. The highlight of their innings was the 91 run seventh-wicket partnership between Sairaj Bahutule (49) and Ramesh Powar (35).


n In Hyderabad: Plate A 263 & 182. Elite C 278 & 172/1 (Satyajit Parab 95 n.o., Yere Goud 50 n.o.). Elite C won by 9 wkts.

n In Bangalore: Elite B 219 & 220 (G. Pandey 47, S. Bahutule 49, R. Powar 35; S. Singh 4/48). Elite A 362/8 decl. & 78/3 (S. Bangar 36 n.o.). Elite A won by 7 wkts.

Email This Page