The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Barreto yet to decide on future with Bagan

Mohun Bagan’s Brazilian star Jose Ramirez Barreto said Monday he is undecided on his future next season. He did not even rule out a switch over to East Bengal. “I’ll arrive at a decision in this regard after going back to Brazil,” he said.

He also informed that he won’t be playing the last National League match against HAL.

Meanwhile, Mohun Bagan club official and football convenor Debashish Dutta resigned from his post Monday citing ‘personal reasons’.

Anandabazar Cup

Sitakundu Vidyatan blanked Jadavpur Baghajatin High School 9-0 in the Britannia Anandabazar Cup inter-district football tournament Monday.

Other Results

Keranitala Sri Sri Mohananda Vidyamandir bt Anandapur HS 1-0; Barsul CDP HS bt Vivekananda Barnamali Vidyamandir 3-0; Lalbagh Singhi HS bt Amtala HS 4-1; Chanak TNAV bt Jemo NN HS 4-0; Bansberia HS bt Hooghly Madrasa 4-0.

Nassiri’s camp

Jamsed Nassiri will start an under-16 football coaching centre at the Parsee Club from Tuesday. It will be a three day programme.

Meanwhile, Nassiri has passed the C-level coaching course organised by the Asian Football Confederation.

AFC panel

Former Fifa panel referee Milan Dutta has become the first Indian to be included in the AFC referee’s panel.

General Faroouq Bouzo of Syria is the chairman while Ahmad Jassim of Bahrain is the vice-chairman of the five-member panel.

Bengal U-25 squad

The Bengal under-25 team for their match against Tripura was announced Monday. Manabendra Yadav comes in place of Subhradeep Ganguly in the squad.


Amitava Chakraborty, Aveek Chowdhury, Ambar Roy, Sourav Sarkar, Anirban Chatterjee, Dibyendu Chakraborty, Subhajit Paul, Aniruddha Roy, Moyanko Chakraborty, Shibsagar Singh, Writam Kundu, Manabendra Yadav, Ayan Nandi, Kamal Hassan Mondal.

Sub-jr cricket

Sinthee Roy Para CCC moved into the semi-finals of the AMCA-organised sub-junior cricket tournament. They beat Sambaran Banerjee CA by seven wickets.


Sambaran Banerjee CA 151/9 (Tamajit Karmakar 48; Souvik Saha 3/39, Rajdip Guha 3/49). Sinthee Roy Para CCC 153/3 (Arpan Chakraborty 51). SRP won by 7 wkts.


HOCKEY: Indian Oil Servo Beighton Cup semi-finals — Army XI vs BSF Jalandhar at 1:15 pm; PSB vs Indian Oil at 3 pm (Mohun Bagan).

Email This Page