The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
No cricketer in the running
- World sportsman of year

London: Formula One world champion Michael Schumacher and golf’s number one Tiger Woods are among the nominees for the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year award.

Woods won the award at the first two “sporting Oscars” while Germany’s Schumacher took the prize for his achievements in 2001. The other nominees for the men’s award are Brazilian Ronaldo, Norway’s Olympic biathlon champion Ole Einar Bjoerndalen and Tour de France winner Lance Armstrong of the US, the organisers said in a statement.

Athletes Marion Jones of the US and Briton Paula Radcliffe are in the frame for the women’s award along with women’s tennis number one Serena Williams, Swedish golfer Annika Sorenstam and Croatia’s Olympic skiing champion Janica Kostelic.

Nominees for the team of 2002 award are Brazil, European soccer champions Real Madrid, Olympic ice hockey champions Canada, Formula One’s Ferrari and Europe’s Ryder Cup-winning golf team. Daniela Hantuchova and David Nalbandian, Chinese basketball player Yao Ming, English footballer Wayne Rooney and Dutch Olympic speedskater Jochem Uytdehaage are in line for the newcomer’s award. (Reuters)

Email This Page