The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Pathan strikes for Elite A
- Rohanís team snatches slender lead

Chennai: Irfan Pathanís stormy spell brought Elite A back in the hunt on the penultimate day of the Duleep Trophy tie against Plate A Friday. Leading by 92 runs on first innings, Hrishikesh Kanitkarís team slumped to 120 for six, for an overall lead of 212.

Baroda left-armer Pathan, who made and unbeaten 28 in Elite Aís total of 281, took four for 46 as Plate A slipped to 78 for six before Sunil Joshi (20 batting) and Thilak Naidu (26 batting) steadied the ship. Sarandeep Singh claimed two for 30.

Bengal seamer Ranadeb Bose, who took two wickets in the first innings, gave away 14 runs in nine overs without taking a wicket. For Elite A, Sridharan Sriram made 116.

In the other match, Rohan Gavaskarís Elite B reached 186 for two in their second essay after snatching a first-innings lead of 18 runs. Openers Amit Pagins and Wasim Jaffer shared a stand of 116. While Pagnis remained unbeaten on 84, Jaffer was out for 59.

Captains of all teams are yet to be informed about the point system in effect under the new format of the championship. Under the old format, the team taking first-innings lead was declared winner in a drawn match.

Seamer Amit Unyal was the most successful bowler for Elite B with six for 92. Bengal off-spinner Sourashish Lahiri got two for 79 with Sairaj Bahutule chipping in with two for 89. Debashish Mohanty went without a wicket.

J. Arunkumarís Plate B resumed at 238 for seven with Srikumar Nair on 40. He took his tally to 95 but his teamís challenge ended when Uniyal trapped him leg-before. Nairís 150-ball knock included ten fours and two sixes.

For Elite B, Pagnis and Jaffer were involved in a solid stand before Narendra Hirwani dismissed the latter to end the big opening stand. Pagnis, who struck 11 fours in 203 balls, added 58 more with Vinayak Mane before the No. 3 bat fell for 25. Hirwani took both wickets, for 49 runs.


n Plate A 373 & 120/6 (Irfan Pathan 4/46). Elite A 281 (S. Sriram 119, D. Ganesh 3/44).

n Elite B 350 & 186/2 (Amit Pagnis 84 batting, Wasim Jaffer 59). Plate B 332 (S. Somasundar 116, Srikumar Nair 95, Amit Unyal 6/92).

Email This Page