The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Duleep starts today

Chennai: The Duleep Trophy, to be played in a new format, gets underway Wednesday with the Rohan Gavaskar-led Elite B taking on Plate B in one of the two matches.

The annual tournament assumes greater importance since the format has been changed keeping in tune with the new Ranji Trophy structure. The selectors have picked five sides for the tournament to be played in different venues in South Zone.

In the other match starting Wednesday, Elite A take on Plate A.

Bharath Reddy, former India stumper and manager of the Elite A team, and Plate A captain Hrishikesh Kanitkar said the new format provides lots of opportunities to those aspiring to make the national team.

Even though most of the players in the five teams have not played together, Kanitkar said all these players have seen each other over the years in various domestic tournaments.

TEAMS Elite A (from): Reetinder Singh Sodhi (captain), Sadagopan Ramesh, Sridharan Sriram, Deep Dasgupta, Mithun Mihhas, Y. Venugopal Rao, Devang Gandhi, Sarandeep Singh, Rahul Kanwat, Irfan Pathan, Ranadeb Bose, S. Gill, Navdeep Singh, Daniel Manohar.

Plate A (from): Hrishikesh Kanitkar (captain), Rowland Barrington, R. Jaiswal, Yashpal Singh, Deepak Chougule, Thilak Naidu, Sunil Joshi, Y. Golwalkar, D. Ganesh, J. Jobanputra, R. Khirad, Joginder Singh, K.S. Ananthapadmanabhan, Rajeev Kumar.

Elite B (from): Rohan Gavaskar (captain), Wasim Jaffer, Vinayak Mane, Amit Pagnis, Arjun Yadav, T.P. Singh, M.S.K. Prasad, Sourashish Lahiri, Sairaj Bahutule, A. Uniyal, Debashish Mohanty, Kalyan Krishna, Sangram Singh, R. Powar.

Plate B (from): J. Arunkumar (captain), Sujith Somasundar, Vijay Bharadwaj, Amay Khurasia, Hemant Kumar, Sree Kumar Nair, A.V. Deshpande, S. Dhabad, Chandrashekhar Atram, S. Sreeshant, Devendra Bundela, M.S. Dhoni, Narendra Hirwani, Rakesh Dhruv. (PTI)

Email This Page