The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
TN best, Bengal last

Chennai: Tamil Nadu beat Bengal by three wickets to win the national one-day meet Friday, edging out Punjab on run rate.

Bengal lost all four matches in the five-team round-robin tournament to finish fifth. They made 239 for eight in 50 overs before Tamil Nadu knocked off the runs with three wickets and 1.5 overs to spare.

Prasenjit Ganguly, Rohan Gavaskar and Subhamoy Das chipped in with 59, 34, 38, respectively. Shabir Ali took four for 60.

Punjab were tied with Tamil Nadu on 13 points.

Rohan to lead

A Staff Reporter in Calcutta adds: Rohan Gavaskar will lead the Elite B team in Duleep Trophy (March 12-April 13). Other Bengal players picked are Deep Dasgupta, Devang Gandhi, Ranadeb Bose (Elite A), Sourashish Lahiri (Elite B), Laxmi Ratan Shukla (Elite C).

BHA League

CCFC beat Howrah Union 5-0 in a first division group A match of the BHA league. Amitav Manikpuri scored three goals. Srikant Maiti and Rakesh Mondal hit one each.

Archery meet

Maniram Tirkey and Dola Banerjee led the menís and womenís sections after Fita round preliminaries of the national ranking archery meet. Tirkey had 315 points, 12 ahead of Shivnath Nagasia. Dola tallied 1324 with Chakravelu Swuro on 1270.

Email This Page