The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Windies set to go through the motions

Kimberley: Kenya and the West Indies play their final World Cup league match here on Tuesday with the result having no significance in the race for the Super Sixes.

That is how it was supposed to be in the group B calculations, except that it is Kenya who have qualified for the next round while the West Indies go through the motions.

The only hope for Carl Hooper’s side was if Canada had upset New Zealand. That didn’t happen and the likes of Brian Lara can start packing.

“Cricket’s a funny game, anything can happen, but we know we are out of it,” Hooper said even before the last ball had been bowled in the New Zealand-Canada clash.

“It will be hard to motivate the boys. But we will still try and win. It’s still a one-day International and more importantly, it is a World Cup game.”

Also, the West Indies will not want to suffer the embarrassment which Richie Richardson’s men went through in the 1996 World Cup when they lost to Kenya in Pune.

The Kenyans, on the other hand, are flying high after becoming the first non-Test playing nation to qualify for the Super Sixes. They deserved the spot after a shock win over Sri Lanka.

They will eye a second big scalp to push their case for Test status even further.

Tikolo hoped Kenya’s performance, irrespective of Tuesday’s outcome, will help their cause. “The ICC should take notice,” Tikolo said. “Our performances here have shown that we are worth more international matches and they will definitely be a boost for Kenyan cricket — as you can see from our shirts, we don’t even have a sponsor.”


West Indies (from): Carl Hooper (capt), Ridley Jacobs, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Pedro Collins, Corey Collymore, Mervyn Dillon, Vasbert Drakes, Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Wavell Hinds, Brian Lara, Jermaine Lawson, Nixon McLean, Ricardo Powell, Ramnaresh Sarwan.

Kenya (from): Steve Tikolo (capt), Maurice Odumbe, Asif Karim, Alpesh Vadher, Ravindu Shah, Hitesh Modi, Brijal Patel, Martin Suji, Tony Suji, Thomas Odoyo, Kennedy Otieno, Joseph Angara, Peter Ongondo, David Obuya, Collins Obuya.

Umpires: David Shepherd (Eng) and Simon Taufel (Aus).

Third Umpire: Kevan Barbour (Zim).

Match Referee: Mike Procter (SA).

Email This Page