The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page
Tollygunge 3, HAL 3

Calcutta: Kenneth Onu denied Tollygunge Agragami victory in their National Football League clash at Salt Lake Stadium Wednesday. More importantly, he fetched HAL a valuable point.

The Nigerian scored the first two and set up a third for Satish Kumar to mastermind the 3-3 draw. Onuís efforts were significant as Tollygunge had built up a 3-1 advantage by the 75th minute.

After 16 matches, Tollygunge have 22 points and HAL nine.

Tollygunge got into the groove quickly. Mehtab Hussainís push hit the crosspiece while Sujoy Datta sent a right-footer sailing over the crosspiece. HAL got into the game thanks to some good combination play by Onu and Uzbek Rajaballev Nurlan. Onuís volley was palmed away by the goaslkeeper.

Their third opening bore fruit, just past the half-hour mark. Onu, seeing custodian Arindam Ghosh leave station, lobbed the ball over his head for a clever strike. But HAL helod on tho the lead for just three minutes. An Ashim Biswas shot off a melee rebounded to Srikanta Dutta who stabbed it home.

Twelve minutes after the breather, Moses Owira put finishing touches to a Sandip Das- Mehtab move. It wasnít a powerful shot, the ball rolling into the goal off the íkeeperís hand. Sujoy made it 3-1 in the 75th half an hour into the second session.

Onu got into the act again in the 78th minute, as he pounced on a faulty clearance and sped forward before letting go a right-footer. It 3-3 as Satish converted an Onu pass. Parmeswaranís red card didnít hurt HAL as it came barely five minutes from full time.


TOLLYGUNGE AGRAGAMI: Arindam Ghosh, Amitava Chanda, Isiaka, Debkumar Sasmal (Sujit Niyogi, 84), Dipayan Majumdar, Mehtab Hussain (Uttam Debnath, 71), Sandip Das, Sujoy Datta, Moses Owira, Srikanta Dutta, Ashim Biswas.

HAL: Subhash Kumar, Santosh Kiran, Parmeswaran, Dayananda, Gift Royken, Rajendra Prasad, Mehrajdin Wadoo, Keneth Onu, Mahendra Mani (Jagdish Kumar, 28; Satish Kumar, 76), Prahlad Rawat (Xavier Vijay Kumar, 44), Rajaballev Nurlan.

Referee: Manuel Pereira.

Email This Page