The Telegraph
Since 1st March, 1999
Email This Page

Federation Cup in August

There’s no time left for this season’s Federation Cup, says the AIFF. It will not be ‘scrapped’, but will be held in August. That’s because the AIFF could not find time to “fit in” its once premier meet.

It was also decided Monday that Mohammedan Sporting will start their National League second division campaign versus Calcutta Port Trust on March 7 in Jamshedpur.

Bengal squad

The Bengal squad for the national limited overs cricket meet was announced Monday. Rohan Gavaskar will lead the squad, which will play against the top zonal teams in Chennai from March 1 to 7.

Squad: Rohan Gavaskar, Deep Dasgupta, Utpal Chatterjee, Subhamoy Das, Laxmi ratan Shukla, Devang Gandihi, Sourashish Lahiri, Ranadeb Bose, Nikhil Haldipur, Subhradeep Ganguly, Prosenjit Ganguly, Shabbir Ali, Murtaza Lodhgar, Moyanka Chakraborty. Coach: Sambaran Banerjee

U-25 probables

The Bengal probables for the East Zone under-25 tournament was announced Thursday.

THE PROBABLES: Subhamoy Das, Sourashish Lahiri, Amitava Chakraborty, Subhradeep Ganguly, Shabbir Ali, Ranadeb Bose, Ambar Roy, Sourav Sarkar, Anirban Chatterjee, Wrichik Majumdar, Dibyendu Chakraborty, Subhajit Paul, Aniruddha Roy, Samrat Guha, Sayan dey, Moyanka Chakraborty, Abhishek Ghosh, Writam Kundu, Avik Chowdhury, Sanjay Agarwal, Manabendra Yadav, Chiranjib Guha, Ranabir Nath, Fakruddin Sajjad, Ayan Nandy, Indrajit Ghatak, Kamal Hassan Mondal.

Vizzy Trophy

North Zone were 201 for seven on Day III of the Vizzy Trophy final at the Eden Gardens Monday. West were all out for 199 in their first innings, setting a victory target of 268.

Brief Scores: West Zone 259 & 199 (Manoj Pardesi 37, Asif Bala 57, Ravi Yadav 42; Anuj Singh 8/62, Gourav Tyagi 2/44). North Zone 191 & 201/7 (Ankur Sodhi 66 batting).

Aryan save day

Aryan saved relegation in the CAB league beating Town by seven wickets Monday.

Brief Score:Town 177. Aryan 178/3 (Abhijit Chatterjee 62) Aryan won by 7 wkts.

Baidya wins

Arup Baidya won the men’s title in the Lalit Mitra Memorial badminton meet Sunday. In the final, he beat Harish Chandra 15-8, 15-0, Amrita Mukherjee won the women’s title beating Sampa Saha 11-8, 11-1.

Other winners: Arup Baidya & Hirak Sengupta (Men’s Doubles); Gourav Das (Junior Boys); Amrita Mukherjee (Junior Girls)


CRICKET: Vizzy Trophy final — North vs West (The Eden, 9:30 am)

GOLF: Taj Ladies’ Golf at Tollygunge Club from 10 am.

Email This Page